PDA

View Full Version : Live Set and global illumination



Martok
05-20-2009, 02:15 AM
I'v ben trying to take advantage of GI rendering in Lightwave and apply it on the liveSet generator, so I can get as much as I can with realistic rendering. The problem starts with the video Input in the scene , after the generator finishes its render passes i can see that the video input in the scene have clear visibility on the edges of the object GI render is bleeding all over the input object, I tried to exclude radiocity caustics and lights from the video input during GI rendering. But still I get the GI particle bleed on the edges of the video input.
Am I to believe that liveSet never meant to support global illumination?

My second question is simple…..
I got a morning show I'm working on with lightwave for the liveset….it has 6 cameras 2 on the left 2 on the right and 2 for the center..camera positions full shot medium and long
The trouble starts when I move to the center long shots, when I have more than 1 guest or host in the show. And as for as I know liveSet support 1 video input. How can I pot them together in the center long shot camera for the Live set?

Here is some screenshot of what I'm talking about….
http://img30.imageshack.us/img30/270/centerwide2shot.th.jpg (http://img30.imageshack.us/my.php?image=centerwide2shot.jpg)http://img195.imageshack.us/img195/3268/centerwideshot.th.jpg (http://img195.imageshack.us/my.php?image=centerwideshot.jpg)http://img43.imageshack.us/img43/2410/leftfullshot.th.jpg (http://img43.imageshack.us/my.php?image=leftfullshot.jpg)http://img269.imageshack.us/img269/5672/leftmediumshot.th.jpg (http://img269.imageshack.us/my.php?image=leftmediumshot.jpg)http://img42.imageshack.us/img42/1307/rightfullshot.th.jpg (http://img42.imageshack.us/my.php?image=rightfullshot.jpg)http://img194.imageshack.us/img194/1725/rightmediumshot.th.jpg (http://img194.imageshack.us/my.php?image=rightmediumshot.jpg)
Any :help: would be great
thanks

billmi
05-20-2009, 07:41 AM
Am I to believe that liveSet never meant to support global illumination?

I've done GI renders without that problem, so I think it may be more related to the particular scene and GI settings.



The trouble starts when I move to the center long shots, when I have more than 1 guest or host in the show. And as for as I know liveSet support 1 video input. How can I pot them together in the center long shot camera for the Live set?


Either, stage everything so that both talent are in a single camera shot, or build a set combining multiple cameras. The second option can't be done in LightWave. You would need to build your background plates in LightWave then build the actual set in Aura.



Here is some screenshot of what I'm talking about….


Those look great!

joseburgos
05-20-2009, 07:56 AM
Make sure your input liveset texture is sized right by using auto size in color and trans.
Next in the trans section, make sure the liveset texture value is set to 100%.
Last make sure luminosity is 100% and diffuse is 0%.
The liveset surface preset will do all of this except the sizing of the texture so you need to do that on your own.

Like Bill, I also use GI all the time without this error. Question, when you turn off GI it renders fine?

José Burgos

joseburgos
05-20-2009, 08:17 AM
My second question is simple…..
I got a morning show I'm working on with lightwave for the liveset….it has 6 cameras 2 on the left 2 on the right and 2 for the center..camera positions full shot medium and long
The trouble starts when I move to the center long shots, when I have more than 1 guest or host in the show. And as for as I know liveSet support 1 video input. How can I pot them together in the center long shot camera for the Live set?


You can have more than one liveset input texture mapped object in the scene at the same time. It will just display the current switcher bus input. If you clone the input plane six times and place them all over the set, it will give you six identical switcher inputs to wherever they are placed.
Now there are a few ways to make your master set.
One way is the way Bill described, different scene files for each camera angle. This seems like the way to have the least confusion and I also suggest it.

Take care,

joseburgos
05-20-2009, 09:00 AM
On 2nd thought, you can make a single master set :)
Take the scene file you already have which should have three frames 0 for left cameras, 1 for center and 3 for right which is the NewTek default style.
Now add frames 3, 4 and 5 to the scene. Open object properties and create an envelope for the dissolve of the wide input plane to make it 100% dissolve for frame o, 1 and 2 and then 0% for 3, 4 and 5.
Now add three more liveset generator master plug-ins to the scene. Select the fourth one (one is left, two is center and three is right) and make shot name left. Change to shot type to multishot. Make include camera one the left camera wide camera. Make all the rest none. DO the same for the other two added to the master plug-in list and just change shot camera one to the wide angle in each one.
Last thing, go back and open each original shot master plug-in and make include camera 1 = none on each of them.
Now render out each liveset generator. What it will do is not create a shotname.0 for the first three liveset generator renders and then make only the shotname.0 for each of the new liveset generator since they have none for multishot 2,3 and 4 and the first three will not render 1 since they are all set to none for one.

Now you have a master scene file for your multi-camera, multi-input object plane liveset.

Take care,

Martok
05-21-2009, 01:37 AM
Like Bill, I also use GI all the time without this error. Question, when you turn off GI it renders fine?

José Burgos

yes with the GI off the input works fine and it doesnt show any light bleeding like the GI

As I stated before somehow even if I exclude radiocity and light from the input it still bleeds GI particles from it, after using the generator render pass

Martok
05-21-2009, 02:53 AM
I have 2 hosts for the morning show. The trouble starts when I want to move to the camera in the center where it shoots the 2 hosts together using medium and longshot, the video input in the center is 4:3 starts to show signs of disproportionate measures by the camera with this set. The left and right camera's looks fine.
Regarding using aura….unfortunately we don’t have that application included in the package so I cant use that as a solution.

joseburgos
05-21-2009, 06:12 AM
So input video plane renders correctly in left and right angle set but not the center of the exact same scene file?
Man that is strange as this would rule out the texture mapping to the input video plane not mapped correctly.
Any lights behind the input video plane that have glow enabled on them? If so, disable glow as it can not intersect with any of the liveset surface textures.
Other than that, I am stumped and it may be time for you to call NewTek support.

Good luck,

SBowie
05-21-2009, 06:40 AM
I can't account for stretching, assuming it's not some sort of parallax issue - but just to mention it:

The way this is generally handled in NewTek's own 2 person LiveSets is a) seating the talent physically close enough together to fit in a single 4:3 camera view, and b) splitting a single input poly into left and right halves, which are generally positioned further apart in the virtual set. This approach effectively saves an input, and lets you position talent quite freely in the virtual set.