PDA

View Full Version : Can PPC Lightwave on Intel Mac?



Johnny
05-19-2009, 02:21 PM
I just talked to a product specialist at Apple who said that when running PPC apps on Intel Macs, Rosetta was not intended for intensive programs, like Final Cut studio...they'll "run" but not well and prbly be full of headaches.

That made me think of Lightwave...THERE'S an intensive program...but are ppl running their old Lightwave on Intel Macs?

To my knowledge, there IS no LW written yet for intel macs...is that correct?

thanks!

J

Scazzino
05-19-2009, 02:32 PM
Hi Johnny,

There is a LW for Intel, it's called LightWave UB which includes binaries for both PPC and Intel. The older LightWave CFM is intended for PPC only, but it does run under Rosetta and can be used if you have old PPC only plugins that haven't yet been updated to UB.

For best results on Intel you'd want to run LightWave UB though. :thumbsup:

Chuck
05-19-2009, 02:32 PM
Yes, LightWave has had a 32-bit Universal Binary version now for the last few incremental updates in the v9 series. The UB version runs the proper native code whether on a PPC system or on an Intel system.

Currently we're working on getting a conversion done to the Mac Cocoa API so that the UB version can be built for both 32-bit support and for 64-bit support under the Leopard OS.

Johnny
05-20-2009, 11:28 AM
Yes, LightWave has had a 32-bit Universal Binary version now for the last few incremental updates in the v9 series. The UB version runs the proper native code whether on a PPC system or on an Intel system.

Currently we're working on getting a conversion done to the Mac Cocoa API so that the UB version can be built for both 32-bit support and for 64-bit support under the Leopard OS.

Chuck;

can you point me to a link offering an upgrade path for an LW 8.5 User?

I see the LW 9.6 page and how to buy the full version, but not the upgrade.


J

JeffrySG
05-20-2009, 08:57 PM
http://shop.newtek.com/upgrades.aspx
lists the upgrades but you might want to see if it's better to just buy into CORE. It might be the same price and I think it comes with 9.6 too. I'd call sales to ask them.

johnsale
06-10-2009, 08:20 AM
I am running Lightwave 8.5 on a MacBook. Dual 2.2 Intel Processor and only 2 gigs of ram. I asked Tech Support if it would be OK.

They said it should run fine.

It does.

I made this model in about 6 hours.

Johnny
06-10-2009, 09:08 AM
I am running Lightwave 8.5 on a MacBook. Dual 2.2 Intel Processor and only 2 gigs of ram. I asked Tech Support if it would be OK.

They said it should run fine.

It does.

I made this model in about 6 hours.

that's good to know...

are you planning on bumping that amount of RAM, or, do you find that for your work, 2gigs is plenty?

J

johnsale
06-10-2009, 09:29 AM
Hello, by the way. I am a NewB here. But, I have been using Lightwave since 2000. I am Certified through Washburn University.

I learned on the PC, but I used LW 5.5 on a PPC Mac at my the employer who sent me to training. I drew 3 things in 18 months. But, I practiced a lot.

A couple of years later, I was hired on as a lead designer at a small ad agency. I encouraged the agency owner to buy LW. It was version 7.0. It was a tad unstable. I was on a dual G5.

We upgraded to Lightwave 8.0 and when the Intel machines came out 18 or so months later, this was when I made the call to NewTek. They said I should notice little-to-no lag.

I believe LW version 8.0 and beyond was meant to operate for both G5 and Intel machines.

I left my job last October, and the day I left, I asked the agency owner "Can I have the Lightwave and dongle?" and he said... "sure."

So now, I am exploring rapid prototyping and 3D printing.

I have currently made thee items by exporting STL files with that free plug-in, and having them made in a uPrint by Dimension. I am printing the gun in 1:1 scale once I work out the price.

A statement, Lightwave is a wonderful program for graphics and animation... even for CAD work. The Engineering Firm who reviewed my models were surprised by the precision of the models and how well they printed.

Here is a sample set of images of how 3D prints (and water-jet cut 2D acrylic panels) were integrated into a radio prototype I redesigned, since it was out of production, and it was needed for a Sand Trooper back pack upgrade (the one on my back is incorrect and will be replaced with the one from the last image). All work done on a $1,000 MacBook. Feedback welcome...

Scazzino
06-10-2009, 09:36 AM
Hi John,

Welcome aboard. Nice stuff.

You should probably start a new thread about your stuff in the WIP or finished sections of the forum and you'll get more viewers and feedback about it. Adding it to an unrelated thread like this one doesn't really give it the exposure it deserves.

Keep up the great work! :thumbsup:

johnsale
06-10-2009, 10:12 AM
Yes, I plan to up the RAM to 4 gigs. I discovered it is really a great idea to not sub-divide early in the model. I wanted to see how the receiver body on the rifle would look... and it has protracted modeling.

AND, it has become less accurate by it's smooth upper front part of the stock.

Oh well, each time we model something, the next time we do it especially if it is the same item it usually turns out better.


that's good to know...

are you planning on bumping that amount of RAM, or, do you find that for your work, 2gigs is plenty?

J

johnsale
06-10-2009, 10:15 AM
My apologies. I understand Forum Decorum, but I went totally tanget on that post!

:)

So, in a nut-shell... LW 8.5 and the latest upgrades works well on G5s and Intel machines, and quite stable as well.

Thanks,
John


Hi John,

Welcome aboard. Nice stuff.

You should probably start a new thread about your stuff in the WIP or finished sections of the forum and you'll get more viewers and feedback about it. Adding it to an unrelated thread like this one doesn't really give it the exposure it deserves.

Keep up the great work! :thumbsup:

Scazzino
06-10-2009, 12:10 PM
My apologies. I understand Forum Decorum, but I went totally tanget on that post!

Oh no problem, I just figured you'd get more viewers/comments for the work itself in the WIP/gallery section rather than on this thread.

:thumbsup:

Johnny
06-10-2009, 12:38 PM
I agree with Scazzino..you should post those pics in WIP also, but I appreciate your intent to show with actual renders that 8.5 works fine on Intel macs, which was what my post was all about.

j

Johnny
06-27-2009, 07:44 AM
Whelp...I finally made a decision and got an 8-core 226 "nail 'em" mac...it's pretty nice...overall it's nicer than the DP G5s I had 4 years ago...quiet, too..


I installed LW 8.5 and the updater and loaded up a scene on the new machine an on my Mini...

the nail 'em mac rendered the same scene with same settings more than twice as fast as the mini..

So, not a jaw-dropper, but it works and I think it'll get me by until I'm ready to upgrade to 9.6, or Core, or whatever makes sense..

J

Scazzino
06-27-2009, 09:25 AM
Right 8.5's running through Rosetta translation which really drags down the render times. It also adds to the memory overhead. Something that just barely renders on the G5 will run out of RAM under Rosetta due to the extra overhead. Once you upgrade to LW9.6 UB you'll see a HUGE render speed up.

:thumbsup:

dwburman
06-27-2009, 10:09 PM
You should be able to download the trial version of Lightwave 9.6 and check out the speed boost first hand.

The renderer is faster in a lot of cases (especially radiosity) but there are new camera and antialiasing settings that can take some getting used to.

I have both the UB and CFM versions installed on my machine but I usually use the UB.