PDA

View Full Version : Is there a reason why...???



virtualcomposer
05-15-2009, 03:56 PM
Is there a reason why even when I turn both lights off totally like ambient zero and intensity zero on both lights, it's still rendering extremely bright? I'm using the pc version of LW here at work.

virtualcomposer
05-15-2009, 04:02 PM
radiosity is on and I'm creating a texture of brass with a little brush on it.

Captain Obvious
05-15-2009, 04:37 PM
You've got luminosity somewhere. Or an environment to reflect.

toby
05-15-2009, 05:21 PM
Or you background / hdr is too bright. Tell us more about the scene -

virtualcomposer
05-15-2009, 08:53 PM
I have a white background and none of the pieces of object are luminated. I turned both lights off and it still renders white. Not sure if it's a PC LW bug or probrably something I'm doing wrong but it was working 10 minutes before I had the problem when I was adjusting the light brightness.

JeffrySG
05-15-2009, 08:57 PM
Well, if you have a white backdrop with raydiosity isn't it like being in a really super lit room? Try a HDRI light probe background instead and if you need the backdrop to be white you can put a white background image in the compositing area.

(someone chime in here if I'm mistaken on this stuff please)

toby
05-15-2009, 09:04 PM
Start eliminating things until it stops turning white; radiosity, the white background, reflection -

Philbert
05-15-2009, 11:57 PM
Yeah the white background is most likely the cause. I often do "clay model" turn-arounds by turning off all lights and ambient, then using a light gray background with radiosity.