PDA

View Full Version : Importing a 3D Max object into LW???



virtualcomposer
05-14-2009, 04:36 PM
Is there a way to import a 3D Max file into lightwave? I just need the object and I can texture it. Please help!

rsfd
05-14-2009, 04:45 PM
Hi,
in Modeler usually 'File > load object' should do.
(mesh is triangulated, often rotated and/or wrong scale, but nothing serious)
To save as .3ds you'll have to go 'Export > Save as 3DS'

csquared63
05-14-2009, 05:30 PM
I downloaded a trial of Max and saved the 3ds format as lwo.

virtualcomposer
05-14-2009, 07:23 PM
Save that from max? So LW can recognize it??

csquared63
05-14-2009, 08:37 PM
Yes. I opened the 3DS file and saved or exported as LWO. It worked great!

ivanze
05-14-2009, 09:41 PM
Which Max exports lwo??

rsfd
05-15-2009, 04:35 AM
@ virtualcomposer
3ds max is windows only and the trial is limited to 30 days.

csquared63
05-15-2009, 05:46 AM
Which Max exports lwo??

Sorry, I went back and looked at the files. I think I exported OBJ format from 3DS, but LW imported it flawlessly. Then I saved as LWO.


@ virtualcomposer
3ds max is windows only and the trial is limited to 30 days.

This is true, but if you have a one-time need it works.

MooseDog
05-15-2009, 07:26 AM
lw opens .3ds files natively, no problem. if your file is .max, then you've got a problem that can only be solved with an installation of 3dsmax (temporary or permanent).

virtualcomposer
05-15-2009, 07:30 AM
Ok, I saved it as a 3Ds object and Modeler opened it but it's opened as 1 whole object and not the pieces like in 3D Max. Is there a way to export it out of Max in the seperate peaces it is made of?

virtualcomposer
05-15-2009, 08:24 AM
I need this as soon as possible if anyone knows

JeffrySG
05-15-2009, 08:57 AM
Can you do a 'select connected' "] key" to see if there is an easy way to cut and paste each part onto a separate layer?

Also, saving it as an OBJ file might get you better results if the 3ds file is triangulated on import. (not sure how that will affect textures though)

virtualcomposer
05-15-2009, 09:09 AM
I did that and all I'm getting is points not the object itself. How do I fill in the points?

RollerJesus
05-15-2009, 09:10 AM
Are you selecting in point mode?

virtualcomposer
05-15-2009, 09:29 AM
Yes but it is triangulated and it goes into the other and I can't get into the points

virtualcomposer
05-15-2009, 09:32 AM
if I were to recreate it in modeler using points, how do I fill them in???

JeffrySG
05-15-2009, 09:42 AM
Can you post the model for us to look at? Maybe an OBJ and a 3DS file? If you can't I understand but it might help us see what is going on.

If you need to turn points into a poly you need to select the points that make up each poly in clock wise fashion and then hit the 'p' key to create a poly from those points. I don't think you'd want to do that for the entire model. If there were a few polys missing that would be ok.

virtualcomposer
05-15-2009, 09:46 AM
is there a way to untrangulate and put it in a more LW format?

JeffrySG
05-15-2009, 09:51 AM
http://newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=98613
has a few options to untriangulate.

virtualcomposer
05-15-2009, 10:04 AM
so where are the plugins located in the Windows version of LW? I'm using Vista. I downloaded MergeTrigon but not sure where the plugin folder is

Philbert
05-16-2009, 06:17 PM
It can go anywhere really, but the default folder is:
C:\Program Files\NewTek\LightWave 3D 9\Plugins

Either way you'll have to load it in. In modeler go to Utilities tab > Add Plugins and Browse for it. It should say "x Plugins have been installed" (where x is a number). Then you should find it right below that spot in the Additional drop-down menu.