PDA

View Full Version : Keeping a reference image on top



THREEL
05-14-2009, 12:28 PM
I would like to use a reference image to help me build a model. It's not an orthographic view, so I can't just use it as a backdrop in one of the view ports. I have modeler running and an image preview open in Windows Picture and FAX Viewer. Is there anyway to keep the image on top, while working in modeler?

tHANX!

BeeVee
05-14-2009, 01:35 PM
Use Deskpins (http://users.forthnet.gr/pat/efotinis/programs/deskpins.html).

B

CC Rider
05-14-2009, 01:44 PM
Another reason why I can't work without dual monitors!

Nangleator
05-14-2009, 02:37 PM
To work in Modeler? Make a plane the right dimensions and UV map the picture to it. You'll be able to move and rotate it around right in the viewports.

THREEL
05-14-2009, 10:30 PM
@BeeVee: I'm looking into it.

@CC Rider: As much as I like your idea, I just bought a new monitor to replace a dying one, so it'll be a while before I can go dual.

@Nangleator: I definitely want to try this.

I just got to thinking, now, that I have a 20" wide monitor, I could just resize the :lwicon: window and be able to keep the reference image (s) unobstructed and at a decent size.

tHANX for all your suggestions guys!

BeeVee
05-15-2009, 03:00 PM
Deskpins allows you to keep a window on top of all the others, even if it's not active.

B

Philbert
05-16-2009, 12:04 AM
I usually use IrfanView for all of my image viewing and quick editing. It has an "Always On Top" option. Aside from being awesome, it's also free. I recommend downloading the plugin pack to go along with it.

http://irfanview.com/

Dexter2999
05-16-2009, 12:25 AM
I usually use IrfanView for all of my image viewing and quick editing. It has an "Always On Top" option. Aside from being awesome, it's also free. I recommend downloading the plugin pack to go along with it.

http://irfanview.com/

That and the fact that it loads more than twice as fast as PS AND it has free plug ins to let you view DWG files and I think CAD files.

Philbert
05-16-2009, 12:32 AM
Oh yeah like 10 times as fast. I just opened it with a 3000x2000 JPG in under a second, pretty much as fast as I could click it. Then you have a lot of the simpler options that Photoshop has including simple painting. The batch processing has come in handy a number of times.

IMI
05-17-2009, 04:17 AM
I usually use IrfanView for all of my image viewing and quick editing. It has an "Always On Top" option. Aside from being awesome, it's also free. I recommend downloading the plugin pack to go along with it.

http://irfanview.com/

Irfanview is great. It's got the stupidest, most hideous program icons in the history of icons, though. And if you allow it to be the default image viewer for all file types, it will litter your drive folders with that red roadkill raccoon (or whatever it's supposed to be) icon....
But aside from that it's a truly excellent program. I had to find some alternate icons for it though when I still used it. I just couldn't stand looking at the default icons for any amount of time.
I think I prefer Adobe Bridge these days though.

dee
05-17-2009, 05:20 AM
Irfanview is great. It's got the stupidest, most hideous program icons in the history of icons, though. And if you allow it to be the default image viewer for all file types, it will litter your drive folders with that red roadkill raccoon (or whatever it's supposed to be) icon....

That's why I use XnView (http://www.xnview.com/en/), it has different icons for the most common formats like jpg, tif, tga, png and so on.

THREEL
05-17-2009, 06:30 AM
Irfanview is great. It's got the stupidest, most hideous program icons in the history of icons, though. And if you allow it to be the default image viewer for all file types, it will litter your drive folders with that red roadkill raccoon (or whatever it's supposed to be) icon....
But aside from that it's a truly excellent program. I had to find some alternate icons for it though when I still used it. I just couldn't stand looking at the default icons for any amount of time.
I think I prefer Adobe Bridge these days though.


Yeah...I know what you mean on that hideous icon. Is there anyway to un-default Irfanview. I selected a lot of file types to associate with it. Why is it that every program wants to be the "Default" prgram to go to. It's pretty annoying...IMO

Philbert
05-17-2009, 12:29 PM
If you want to change what a file opens with just right click it and open the properties, then hit the button next to "Opens with:".

Yeah the file icons are still hideous, but the icons in the program itself have been improved in more recent versions. I don't use it as the default anyway, if I want to open a file with it I'll right click and hit "Open With..."

http://content.screencast.com/users/philnolan3d/folders/Jing/media/01873f27-ec20-432b-bc16-8e7abd0d5474/2009-05-17_1427.png

THREEL
05-17-2009, 06:46 PM
I don't use it as the default anyway, if I want to open a file with it I'll right click and hit "Open With..."

http://content.screencast.com/users/philnolan3d/folders/Jing/media/01873f27-ec20-432b-bc16-8e7abd0d5474/2009-05-17_1427.png

Yeah...That's what I've been doing. :thumbsup: