PDA

View Full Version : PFX 'illegal format' problem



Graham Nichols
08-20-2003, 10:07 AM
Hi,

As a new LW 7.5c Build 584 user I'm having a problem loading particle/effects scenes shipped with LW.

When I attempt to load any of these files I receive

'PFX[emitter]: illegal format can not load'

error(s). This pertains to any PFX type (wind,emitter etc). My files size for particleFX.p is 232KB as it should be. I've un-installed and re-installed LW without success.

Anyone else *enjoyed* the same problem,and found a way to fix it please?

I'm using my LW on Windows XP pro.

kind regards,

Graham

hunter
08-20-2003, 03:34 PM
usually I just hit start in the fx browser to see the sim.

Graham Nichols
08-20-2003, 05:06 PM
Originally posted by hunter
usually I just hit start in the fx browser to see the sim.

Mmm. I think that we have a crossed wire here.

My problem is that when I try to load the FX scene(s) supplied with LW by

layout > load > load scene > /particles_and_dynamics /<file in question>

I receive errors as LW attempts to load the emmiters

"PFX[emitter]: illegal file format unable to load"

Starting the sim is the stage beyond my current situation.

I appreciate your trying to help though.

regards,

Graham

mrunion
08-20-2003, 09:23 PM
I get the same thing as you when I load the sample scenes. I press "OK" or "Continue" or whatever it says in that box and then the scene loads. Then I hit "FX_Start" the same as hunter and it works just fine.

No clue what causes it.

Graham Nichols
08-21-2003, 12:46 AM
Originally posted by mrunion
I get the same thing as you when I load the sample scenes. I press "OK" or "Continue" or whatever it says in that box and then the scene loads. Then I hit "FX_Start" the same as hunter and it works just fine.

No clue what causes it.

OK,thanks. As a newbie I just wanted to ensure that it wasn't something really stupid that I was/wasn't doing to cause it.

I apprecaite your help guys.

My apologies Hunter, I misunderstood your reply.

best, Graham

Red_Oddity
08-21-2003, 03:13 AM
The reason the scenes give that error is not so much because the file is corrupt, but because LW is a heap of dung when it comes to file in- and output and content management (no offence, i bet the guys at NT are anxious to fix it with the next update...right? guys?)

Just open up the emmiter that is whining and click the File tab and click load motion, point to the file...done...

-------------------------------------------------------
Why oh why NT did you do this? It seems like you messed up when starting to do the Mac port (no flame bait intended)

Let's analyse FXCollisionCupSwish.lws...

This way LW loads an object in the scene:

LoadObjectLayer 1 Objects/_Features/ParticleFX2/Cup.lwo

This is how it loads the Particle motions:
Plugin CustomObjHandler 1 FX_Emitter
:Motions:ParticleFX2:FXCollisionCupSwish.pfx

Hey, just the way the Mac handles it's files...PC no likey...

jupussi
08-26-2003, 04:42 AM
hmm, same problem here.

How can I add a new emitter? Items-> Add -> PFX is empty. There is no listing of emitters.

jupussi
08-26-2003, 04:49 AM
Scene->FX_Browser seems to work. So problem solved.