PDA

View Full Version : Running a plugin???

kuroyume0161
02-25-2003, 06:47 PM
I'm quite new to LightWave3D (7.5) and have downloaded a free plugin (.p), put it into the Plugins directory, and added it in LW Layout using Add Plugins..., but I can't find it anywhere to actually run it.

The manual doesn't exactly outline how this is done. Describes adding them nicely, but it's not showing up anywhere to be run.

Confused kuroyume0161

LightFreeze
02-25-2003, 06:57 PM
depends what it is for

lots of different places for a plugin to hide

kuroyume0161
02-25-2003, 07:05 PM
It's a plugin to supposedly get your Dongle ID. I placed it in the Lightwave\Plugins\Utility\ folder and opened LW. Went to Layout->Add Plugins... and selected it. A dialog said that 1 was added and that's it. Can't find it in the Generic Plugins list or in any of the menus or in the Plugin list (Edit Plugins). Information about the plugin on the site is basically nonexistent (download and ???).

Kuroyume

Justin Hicks
02-26-2003, 05:23 PM
Hey i dont know much but i found out that plugins are ( .P ) files...so if you go to start, search, find files or folders, then type .p it "should" atomaticly find all the plugins..that might work i dont know it worked for me...but anyway .. bye

kuroyume0161
02-26-2003, 06:44 PM
It's not that I can't find the plugin. I know precisely where it is :), but it won't seem to make it self available for running (even after "add"-ing it to the available plugins in LW.

kuroyume

brtk
02-26-2003, 06:57 PM
Well , have you tried to look for it in Modeler? Try Construct tab and Additional dropdown menu- most of Modeler plugs "lands" there... btw where did u download it? could u post an URL?
maybe I can find it for u

kuroyume0161
02-26-2003, 08:57 PM
Yes, I tried it Modeler. I wish they'd make a general Plugin area (even if it puts itself someplace else).

The plugin is Get Dongle ID (on the right) from http://www.greenbriarstudio.com/3D/.

Thanks,

kuroyume

faulknermano