PDA

View Full Version : Basic blood dripping

claudians
04-30-2009, 04:22 PM
This may be really basic (I hope so). I want to make blod come out of a wound and run down the skin. I don't want to be gruesome and have it spurting out. The trouble is I can't get past the particle emitter shape. That is, if I have the particle emitter as a sphere that is 15 mm across, the particles stay in that little ball (and it gets crowded in there). I am no expert - in fact I am missing quite a few of the basics, but I am trying to work with what I have. Anyone have suggestions on how to make this blood work? Any suggestions will be appreciated.

SplineGod
04-30-2009, 07:47 PM
I probably wouldnt go with particles. Theres alot of things youll end up having to tweak plus dealing with collision objects. I would use a textures or create an object composed of alot of points and morph it. You can apply hypervoxels to the object. Use a morph target to make it ooze. If the angle of the wound is such that you need a few drips then you could probably get away with a particle emitter.

claudians
04-30-2009, 11:07 PM
I think I figured it out. There are a couple of little things to tweak in the color department, but thanks for the advice. I wanted to avoid texturing at all costs because I am REALLY bad at that. Thank you Splinegod.

I ended up using hypervoxels.

SplineGod
04-30-2009, 11:18 PM
Ive had to do a lot of blood elements on a show Ive been working on. :)

Mr Rid
04-30-2009, 11:22 PM
LW particles leave a lot to be desired for liquids, but it may help to have them stick to each other a little by calculating self-collision with viscosity.

Particle tab- enable Show Size and Output Size.
Enter an appropriate Particle Size value so that particles can 'touch' each other.
Interaction tab- Self Interaction and Interaction set to 'Crowd.' Adjust viscosity.