PDA

View Full Version : Avi Wrapper Problem With Tmpgenc



stoolpigeon
08-19-2003, 11:13 PM
I cannot get my wrapped projects into TMPGENC for conversion to MPEG2.

Here's the steps I followed.......in TEd, I went to FILE and SAVE AS........typed in a file name and selected .AVI as the file type

There is a filename there and it's an avi file, but when I load it into TMPGENC, it says P3 error .dll

I can reload my conversion settings and this still doesn't help.

What am I doing wrong?

Thanks,
Chad

robewil
08-20-2003, 02:01 AM
For TMPGEnc, you don't need to use the avi-wrapper, VT[3] installs a plug-in that allows TMPGEnc to see a VT3 project file.

In other words, save your project as a VT3 project and import that into TMPGEnc. It should work.

Scott Bates
08-20-2003, 08:07 AM
Just have to make sure you select the "Install Third-Party Plugins" option when installing VT[3] or from Start > Programs > VT[3] > Utilities if after the install.

stoolpigeon
08-20-2003, 12:13 PM
So I don't even need to save the project as an AVI Wrapper.....just save it as usual as T3 project?

Sounds good. Thanks a lot!!!!
Chad

stoolpigeon
08-20-2003, 12:39 PM
I tried it and it still doesn't work.

I saved my project under SAVE AS and the name is COMPLETED and the type was VT[3] Project

I loaded TMPGENC and selected video source BROWSE and found the file and selected the Newtek VT[3] Plug In from the type of file window.

The computer starts to load it and says FILE CANNOT OPEN OR UNSUPPORTED.

I used the 3rd Party installer and see a file in the TMPGENC directory called video toaster, so I know the plug in is there.

Any ideas or did I miss something?

Thanks,
Chad

jerm
08-20-2003, 06:05 PM
Are yo uable to load regular avi files?

If you toaster edit project has subprojects TMPGEnc might have problems seeing the file, we are working on a fix. Other than that it should work.

What version are you using?

stoolpigeon
08-20-2003, 10:29 PM
TMPGENC Version 2.57.41.146

BTW, will it read in my wav files and tga graphics and covert those as well?

Thanks,
Chad

edmellnik
09-12-2003, 07:08 PM
I have had problems if I dont close t3 before getting into TMPGE.

My problem is I am getting little squares in my completed rendered mpeg. SOmething is corrupting.
It seems to occure on the stills in the project but even if I
render the stills as an RTV it still occurs.
SOmething is corrupting. And before I put t3 on it was working
perfectly.
ed

ScorpioProd
09-13-2003, 12:41 AM
You really shouldn't leave VT[3] open when using TMPGEnc.

edmellnik
09-13-2003, 02:00 AM
My problem was happening even when t3 was closed.

What I think I hve found is that maybe the mpeg files are ok but wmp is not liking the files on that machine.
If I play the files just rendered on another machine I dont get
little corrupted squares. But I never had this problem until I put T3 on. Does anyone know if T3 put its own Mpeg codec on???

ed

Paul Lara
09-13-2003, 09:55 AM
Originally posted by edmellnik
Does anyone know if T3 put its own Mpeg codec on???


It does not.
Have you upgraded to DirectX 9.0 ?

edmellnik
09-13-2003, 02:36 PM
I do not know what version is there.
Should I be on 9.0????

ScorpioProd
09-14-2003, 12:40 AM
DirectX 9.0b is the current version, and recommended for all.

If you haven't updated your DirectX in more than a few months, you don't have it.

Get it from Microsoft's site.

Pete Draves
09-15-2003, 09:31 AM
The save as avi function with tempeg.
1 does not recognize the embeded audio.
2 when used with a rendered out audio file from the project audi is not in sync
3 when project video and audio is rendered out all is in sync.

Number three is the best way at the moment to do mpeg encoding. this was after a full day of tests with a project length of 1 hr 30 min.

Yes direct x 9 and the new media player is a must to install.

Pete

stoolpigeon
09-15-2003, 12:08 PM
Some of the newer toaster effects of Faraz site are of the FILE type and not the TOASTER EFFECT file type. They play perfectly in the toaster (Such as the animations, flash while, spinning blocks, etc) but will not convert in TMPGENC.

I know that the file type is different. Is there any way to change it? I tried the old rename extention trick, but it didn't work....so I assume there is some kind of conversion that needs to be done.

Thanks,
Chad