PDA

View Full Version : Setting Relative Paths Using an LScript

vfxaaron
04-16-2009, 11:50 AM
Is there any command to set relative content directories such as "Scenes, Hierarchies, Objects, Images, etc"? I've found the command for setting the content directory, which is "ContentDirectory \\PathToProject", but I can't find any way outside of the interface for setting the relatives paths beneath this.

The goal is to create a tool which will allow artists in a production environment to select from a list of projects, which will activate the project as the Content Directory and parse from a file what the relative paths should be set to for that project.

I'm very new to LScript, so I'm not even sure where to begin. Do these paths exist as environment variables? An example of how the config file stores these values is, "DirectoryType Scenes \\Full_Path", but "DirectoryType" does not exist as a command within Layout.

Any suggestions?

vfxaaron
04-16-2009, 03:59 PM
This is what I've got so far for setting the Content Directory. Works pretty well if every project is set up exactly the same, but I'd still like to be able to automate changing all the relative paths.

generic
{
oldCD = getdir(CONTENTDIR);
chdir("\\\\Server\\Share\\Projects");
file = File("_ProjectList.txt","r");
chdir(oldCD);
if(file == nil)
{
info("Could not find project list file.");
return;
}
index = 1;
while(!file.eof())
{
projects[index] = file.read();
index ++;
}

reqbegin("Select A Project");
c0 = ctlpopup("Active Projects:",1,projects);
return if !reqpost();
newCdIndex = getvalue(c0);
reqend();

info("Setting Content Directory: " + projects[newCdIndex]);
ContentDirectory(projects[newCdIndex]);
}

faulknermano
04-17-2009, 07:22 AM
My suggestion is a workaround, since, afaik, there are no commands for what you want to do.