PDA

View Full Version : Rendering problem

ar08
04-15-2009, 04:11 PM
Im very new to lightwave having only started using it two months ago. I was told that in layout whilst rendering it only renders what the camera sees. Is this function automatic or do you have to activate the function elsewhere before rendering.
The problem is, im trying a test render as wireframe, yet to render 150 frames its taking 17 minutes, which i find to be quite long. The object in the scene is 196278 polygons but the object that the camera is seeing throughout the 150 frames is much much less and simple. Also im using lightwave 9.6

any help would be appreciated
Thanks alot
Andy

Sensei
04-15-2009, 04:20 PM
In your message, I don't see any problem. Camera of course renders only what is visible, because what else it would have to render? Photo camera in real world also takes photo of what is visible..

17 minutes for 150 frames is very fast rendering.. Proximately 7 sec per frame.. People often have scenes that render in 30-60 or more minutes per frame, depending on complexity and used materials (especially with reflection/refraction blurring and many recursions and GI is slowing down rendering).

Tobian
04-15-2009, 04:46 PM
I wish I could get renders that fast! :D

Have you tried the perspective camera, instead of the classic cam? Not sure if it'd be any faster, for wireframe, but it might.

Trouble with render settings is there's so many. We've no idea what settings you're using, or any kind of context for that.

NB: you can use 'preview' menu to generate an openGL wireframe preview animation, which you can then save out. That should render considerably faster than using the render module! Look at the 'preview' popup to the lower right of the screen in layout! :D

ar08
04-15-2009, 04:47 PM
yeah but the reason i was querying is because im rendering as a wireframe.
thanks for the quick reply

Hieron
04-15-2009, 05:09 PM