PDA

View Full Version : dual quad processors



bbeanan
08-18-2003, 11:07 PM
I have seen some high end servers that have 4 or 6 processors would the VT3 use the extra power??

kleima
08-22-2003, 11:23 AM
I believe the MAX number of processors that Windows can handle is four. I don't know how the VT would use this, though.

Faraz
08-25-2003, 03:12 PM
These types of motherboards usually have a very weak graphics side. Since they are made for servers not video editing.

gosmond
08-25-2003, 07:05 PM
Agreed Faraz. There are 'HAL's' that support 8 CPU's or more for certain applications. I know that CITRIX supports multiple CPU's and at one time CITRIX claimed to support 8. The HAL (hardware abstraction layer ) is a type of software driver that enables the software to take advantage of multiple CPU's. Without the proper HAL, the software is Ka-Ka! Now anyone wanting to write a multi-CPU HAL for VT is welcome. However, with the brains at Newtek, I'm sure they are working on it and keeping it quiet. Afterall - VT is software based and a new HAL would be top secret no?