PDA

View Full Version : .lwo to .stl



JOSEPI
04-14-2009, 07:19 AM
We are getting a 3D printer and would like to use Lightwave to model the training aids but I need to convert the .lwo to a .stl. I am looking for guidance on where to get a .stl converter for Lightwave and how to install it.

Thanks in advance for any help anyone can provide.

OnlineRender
04-14-2009, 07:27 AM
http://flay.com/ search for pluggin i think its there

3dpete
04-14-2009, 07:30 AM
http://www.chromecow.com/downloads/lscript/shm-stl-tools/

Unzip it into your plugin directory, then go to utilities, and add plugins

JOSEPI
04-14-2009, 08:06 AM
Am I missing something here? I got the .stl unzipped it and put it in the plugins folder then added plugin. When I try to export it does not give me the option for .stl

3dpete
04-14-2009, 08:08 AM
Go to edit - edit keyboard shortcuts. Do a search for stl and add it.

JOSEPI
04-14-2009, 09:25 AM
Thanks For the help. I got it to work but when I exported I got a line error. I'll work with it. Thanks again, I'm closer then I was last week.

JeffrySG
04-14-2009, 01:12 PM
If you happen to have Silo, it exports as .stl files naively as well.

Ponyboy
02-09-2011, 05:00 PM
I still don't understand how this works once you've downloaded it... Can someone explain as it they were teaching a child, please? ;)

glebe digital
02-10-2011, 05:39 AM
JOSEPI - You might also want to consider Polytrans for .stl export, I've tried the LW-plugs before & always had some kind of problem....Polytrans will mean some spend, but it does cut out a lot of headaches.

best,
Glebe

JOSEPI
02-10-2011, 07:06 AM
glebe- Thanks for the advice. It was an old post but getting help at any point is appreciated.

3dpete- Ment to get back to you and thank you for the help but things got crazy and I just forgot. I did get it installed and got it to work with a few adjustments. They are looking at a new printer but still need the .stl, now that I know how to use it it's a lot simpler. Thanks again.

hunter
02-10-2011, 07:37 AM
Also meshlab is free and has some tools to find errors that might affect the printing process. I can't remember if opens lwos directly but does open objs and will export stl.

Shawn Farrell
02-11-2011, 01:11 PM
from inventor can you import .stl into lightwave, using accutrans I only get grayscale objects, how can I preserve the surface colors?

Thanks, Shawn

MicroMouse
02-11-2011, 09:52 PM
.stl files do NOT contain any material properties such as surface colors.

Wayne