PDA

View Full Version : saslite ???

DONGLE THIS!
08-18-2003, 09:14 AM
Hi, can anyone email a spline guide that is ready made.
I am tryin so hard, and nothing will work(feel like crying)
I just want to see how it is done with putting one spline guide in layout and adding saslite, so then i can clone them and make some grass.

please someone help me, i am new to this saslite thing.
and I just want to make one piece of hair with one spline guide.

Thanks so much.

Dodgy
08-18-2003, 09:48 AM
Create a one point polygon, give it a surface like 'root' and then create a spline in a background layer.

Copy the point poly, then use rail extrude with the spline in the background layer. This will create a chain of 2 point polys. Give them a new surface like 'hair', and then PASTE the one point poly back in. Merge it, with 'keep one point polys' on, and you'll end up with a string of 2 point polys with a one point poly at the end.

This is your guide hair. For a better method of creating these, for a full wig, check out my tutorial:

http://www.newtek.com/products/lightwave/tutorials/modeling/saslite/index.html

hrgiger
08-18-2003, 10:22 AM
If you're just making grass, I wouldn't even use guide chains at all. I'd just use the fur feature.

However, Mikes method will work for you if you want to make guide chains.

However, I believe this is the easiest way to make guide chains and it's the method I use:

Under the create tab, use the points button and make a string of points however long you want your grass to be. Now in point mode, select each one in order and then make a curve (ctrl + p). Now use the curve2polychain plug-in that you'll find here: http://www.terryf.dsl.pipex.com/htm/frameplugins.shtml This will make you a guide hair that will work with sasquatch. Leave the names of the root and the hair at their defaults. Now you just enter Hair under the sas panel where it says make long hair with hair guides. That's it.

DONGLE THIS!
08-18-2003, 04:30 PM