PDA

View Full Version : coating object with points

biliousfrog
03-31-2009, 03:12 AM
I need to cover a shipwreck object with points to use for cloning coral objects...what's the best way?

The difficult part is that the surface obviously doesn't have even polygon distribution so I can't just subdivide it or generate particles on it because the more detailed areas will have many more points.

What I considered is using a particle generator and have the particles 'stick' to the object...then use those to clone objects (maybe buy HD Instance). In theory I thought that it might work but in practice I have never done anything like that before so I wanted to get some input from anyone that has done something similar.

The advantage to using 'sticky' particles is that I can drop them from above and get realistic growth on the top of the object only.

aaronv2
03-31-2009, 03:21 AM
i have two ideas... you can either...

1) Use the geometry verticies, if you make a copy of your object and either use bandsaw to give it some divisions and then subdivide your object and then kill the polys (k on keyboard) you will be left with a point cloud that you can use a selection technique to select points.

2) You cut out the polys you want to build the barnicles on. And use clothfx to drape a mesh over your model and then save the transformed object and use modeler to subdivide that and thus kill the polys leave the points.

Otherwise particles would be a good idea too however you wil probably need to play with the settings for a while until u get something desirable

biliousfrog
03-31-2009, 04:11 AM
i have two ideas... you can either...

1) Use the geometry verticies, if you make a copy of your object and either use bandsaw to give it some divisions and then subdivide your object and then kill the polys (k on keyboard) you will be left with a point cloud that you can use a selection technique to select points.