PDA

View Full Version : Stop the train Newtek; this is where this Hobbyist gets off!

rkphelps
03-29-2009, 03:00 PM
Iím going to do a little bloviating and venting here, Itís long so I suggest you grab a beer before reading further. :D

I got on the Newtek Lightwave Train back around version 5 and have purchased every upgrade since. As a 3D hobbyist who has never made a cent with all the software I owned this has added up to quite a chunk of change. Sometimes I feel more like an addicted Software collector than a 3D Artist, as on the whole there is no way I can justify the cost of this hobby. Like most expensive hobbies we spend the money for enjoyment and to satisfy a need, in this case my need to satisfy my sense of creativity cravings.

My background is in 3d Cad and for over 20 years designed precision aerospace components with high end Cad software. But my passion has always been 3d artistry which is a whole different ball game and skill set which to my dismay I have little talent.
Back when I started using Lightwave 5.5 I thought I would eventually make my own animated movie someday with this software. The more I learned the more I realized how hard and time consuming this 3d stuff really is. It was always that next upgrade with its new bells and whistles surly would get me closer to being able to fulfill my quest. While some things did get easier the software got deeper and more sophisticated with each release allowing you true 3d artists out there to do jaw dropping stuff. All these new capabilities keep moving the goalposts down the field and now maybe that dream of Robís animated film may have passed me by.

In Todayís economy the cost of my hobby and the real possibilities of what I can really achieve with it, needs to be looked at in a different light. I realize Iíll never have the skills of Timothy Albee and Iím not about to move to a one room shack in Alaska. :D