PDA

View Full Version : Copy of 9.6 on a 9.3 machine



Gary Heck
03-29-2009, 10:52 AM
I was wondering if I would have any problems keeping lightwave 9.3 fully functional on its own on a machine that I also install 9.6. ?

I want to keep them separate so I can continue to use Mule for network rendering. Mule is only compatible with 9.3.

How would I install 9.6 so it doesn't cause problems with Mule rendering from the 9.3 version?

Hopper
03-29-2009, 11:15 AM
There are several posts on the forums about this. I had answered one recently too, but can't seem to find it. It's around here somewhere - I'll see if I can find the link.

But in a nutshell, create a seperate configs directory for your 9.6 install and use a custom shortcut. The shortcut needs to make use of the "-c" command line parameter.

Quick example: (config directory in C:\DevLW96\Configs).



C:\Dev\LW96\Programs\modeler.exe -cC:\Dev\LW96\Configs


Same thing for Layout:



C:\Dev\LW96\Programs\lightwav.exe -cC:\Dev\LW96\Configs


Just remember that if you have spaces in your directory path, use quotes... such as:



C:\Dev\LW96\Programs\lightwav.exe -c"C:\Dev\My Config Folder With Spaces\"

belanagy
04-03-2009, 07:29 PM
Hi Hopper,

I think this is it....
(thank you very much for explaining it to me)

http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=95882

Gary Heck
11-14-2010, 01:19 PM
Sorry this took so long to reply to but I just did it and it worked great! Thanks guys!