PDA

View Full Version : Fiber Fx Unstable?

glasstrails
03-24-2009, 09:26 PM
Just curious to know if Fiber FX is really as crash prone as it seems to be for me. If I tweak a model as soon as it updates in Layout everything crashes. When I opened up my scene after taking a break my Fiber FX were active and would draw correctly in Open GL but would not render during test renders. I tried to reload my saved Fiber FX and as soon as I did Layout crashed. I know my system is more than powerful enough to handle this and I have not had any issue with Lightwave crashing until I started learning Fiber FX. Just wondering if this is a known issue or not.

SplineGod
03-25-2009, 12:03 AM
Its always been unstable. I still see a fair number of people having various problems with it.

glasstrails
03-25-2009, 11:58 AM
It's rather unfortunate that it seems so unstable. FiberFx is quite powerful and intuitive and I came up with some really nice results, without a lot of hassle after playing with it for a couple days, while it was behaving...

adamredwoods
03-25-2009, 12:57 PM
apply the "keep it simple" rule to FiberFX. It's ok for some things.

Lexxiam
03-26-2009, 07:15 AM
In my case FiberFX crash LW when Subdivision Order is Last:help:

IMI
03-27-2009, 09:40 PM
In my case FiberFX crash LW when Subdivision Order is Last:help:

That could just be a coincidence. I think it has a built-in crash randomizer which allows it to be more creative and less predictably consistent with its crashes.

It's just part of the FiberFX Experience, kind of a game, if you will - see how far you can get before it crashes or wigs out, and then try to beat that record later. ;)

SplineGod
03-28-2009, 12:52 AM
Well that randomizer works damn good. :)

biliousfrog
03-28-2009, 06:34 AM
I have the same randomizer installed in Modeler for when I make multiple layers 'active'...such fun to see when the Hub last saved the object.

simpfendoerfer
04-03-2009, 01:11 PM