PDA

View Full Version : FBX export ?



mrpapabeis
03-24-2009, 03:16 PM
Can't find FBX export.
See attached .png

I really need this!

OSX 10.4.11
Dual 1.8 Ghz Power PC G5.
4GB Ram
9.6 UB LW build 1539


Mr. Papabeis

quay
03-25-2009, 10:06 AM
Under the Items tab
Items
Import/export

That is where you find FBX export

mrpapabeis
03-26-2009, 09:00 AM
Quay,

The screen shot was taken under the items tab.

File > export >

Obviously somethings wrong. Chilton help please??

Otterman
03-26-2009, 10:25 AM
have you tried rescanning your import/export plugins?

mrpapabeis
03-26-2009, 10:47 AM
Otterman,

Yes. But I never loaded version 9.5. I think that the plugin came from that version.
See post # 5 here:

http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=96295&highlight=fbx

Any ideas, anyone?

mrpapabeis
03-28-2009, 08:18 AM
OK. Found the FBX plugin named Valkyrie. Added it to layout. Still does not appear as an export option. It does show in the modeler though. Can someone please, perhaps from Newtek, tell me how to fix this?

Chilton
03-28-2009, 09:35 AM
What concerns me here is the 10.4.11 and PPC. We had some build issues with Val early on that prevented it from running on that configuration, but I thought we'd fixed it. I happen to have an identical system to yours, and I'll test it this afternoon.

-Chilton

Phil
03-28-2009, 04:19 PM
Heh. I've not been able to get a usable FBX or Collada export out of Layout. FBX loses all UV and texture information and Collada seems to end up with corrupt UV maps. I've fired in a bug report, but it's hard to know what to say. A friend with modo was able to import the LWO and export it without trouble as FBX (although at 400 MB, the export seems very large compared to the non-functional 20-30 MB attempt that LW produced).

mrpapabeis
03-29-2009, 06:20 PM
Thanks Chilton!