PDA

View Full Version : Morph Help Please.



zapper1998
03-19-2009, 09:19 PM
Morphs and Desendants

I have an object, its a cable that goes down, and the the hook Assy.

How do I get the Hook assy and the pulley to follow the morph ??
Or
How do I parent the HookAssy and the pulley to the Cable so when I move the Morph.Down for the cable the hook and pulley follow it??

Michael

SplineGod
03-19-2009, 11:18 PM
You can mdscan the cable and derive a motion path off one of the points using editfx. You can also use Dpots Item motion plugin to parent the items to any point on the morph object/.

lwaddict
03-20-2009, 01:24 PM
You can also use the good old tried and true Bones/Morph trick we used to use back in the day for snakes and coils.

Create the rope as a long piece with no bends...
then when in Layout, use a set of bones to set it all up and bend it the way you want it...make sure to continue the bone chain for a bit in the direction you want the pull...

Now, back in modeler..."save as" the rope to another filename...take this model and literally move it along the axis it runs along and save in the new position.

In Layout, bring the new model in and push it out of view, you're just going to use this as a morph target.

Select the original rope...morph target the second model and play with the amount.

The rope should morph to it's new position but it should flow along the bone chain.

Make sense?

zapper1998
03-20-2009, 02:16 PM
Thank You for the advice

Thank You

Michael

lwaddict
03-20-2009, 02:50 PM
No problemo...
we old timers didn't spend all that time learning tricks without plugs for nothing right?

:D

zapper1998
03-22-2009, 06:43 PM
Here is a pic of the set up i am trying to do..

71377

This image shows the parts that move, the cable is a single cable, and the two top pulleys and the bottom pulley will rotate as the cable moves back and forth and up and down.

71378
71379
I have tried the for mentioned ways, but it does not work or I must bee doing something terriably wrong....
I should load up the model so you can take a look at what I have..

More Help would be so Appreciated..

Thank You
Michael

zapper1998
03-22-2009, 07:10 PM
Here is the Rear Hoist Cable System That I have morphs on, thinking I could animate jut using the morphs..

71382

But it is reall time consuming..

71381

I am trying to parent the Hook assy to the pulleys so as the traverse goes left and right, up and down it will stay with it, I am trying but seem to keep getting bad results.

Thanks again
Michael

bryguy
03-22-2009, 07:54 PM
This should get you going on the right direction... dponts point info and node motion are used...the ogl veiw may not up date right, but preveiw and render are fine...

also... you might want to place some points stratigicaly in your object as part of the morphs. it will make placement of peices easier.

I COULD HAVE got the placement dead on in the one I am sending by adding or subtracting from the point position before I pluged into node motion from point info, but i didnt...

http://soldierwithin.home.comcast.net/~soldierwithin/forzap.zip

load and make preveiw...

bryguy
03-22-2009, 08:13 PM
also zapper... you want to place points in your morph as place holders for your wheels/pullies... Then do the same thing and use node motion on the wheels to place them at the points.

zapper1998
03-22-2009, 08:21 PM
dponts point info and node motion are used

Is that on his web site ??

zapper1998
03-22-2009, 08:22 PM
I have his DP_Kit_x32
But cant find his DP_Filter kit..

bryguy
03-22-2009, 08:27 PM
http://pagesperso-orange.fr/dpont/plugins/nodes/Additionnal_Nodes_2.html

node motion is seperate(pc only) on the bottom left of that page.

zapper1998
03-22-2009, 08:39 PM
http://pagesperso-orange.fr/dpont/plugins/nodes/Additionnal_Nodes_2.html

node motion is seperate(pc only) on the bottom left of that page.


Your scene asks for a "Plug in of type ItemMotionHandler found with name nodelitemMotion"

is that part of the dp kit??

Went there and it is not there to download..

can you zip and load it up..???

zapper1998
03-22-2009, 08:41 PM
i must be missing something
It asks for the plugin and i point it to the DP_Kit_x32.p but i guess thats not it...

bryguy
03-22-2009, 08:46 PM
http://pagesperso-orange.fr/dpont/plugins/nodes/nodes/Node_Editors.html#NodeItMot

that is for node motion.

point info is part of dpkit...so you should have that.

zapper1998
03-22-2009, 08:53 PM
ok Found the DP_Motion Info and DP_Point Info Nodes

71385

Is this it...

Dont mind me just getting trying to get back on track here..

New to nodes and I am trying to use them more ...

Michael

bryguy
03-22-2009, 09:01 PM
give me about 5 min and I will post a link to a vid...

you got "motion info" that is somthing different...
nodal motion is a motion modifier...press m then add it in the motion modifier list.

I will post a vid... it is very easy once you see what the deal is.

zapper1998
03-22-2009, 09:07 PM
Forgot to say i am new to nodes..
you also mentioned :

you want to place points in your morph as place holders for your wheels/pullies... Then do the same thing and use node motion on the wheels to place them at the points

Like a point in the center of each pulley and wheel ?

oh ya..

Thank You for your help.. Mr.Bryguy

Most appreciated
Michael

zapper1998
03-22-2009, 09:13 PM
motions properties panel of what i have

71387

Michael

bryguy
03-22-2009, 09:32 PM
you dont have it installed...

If you go to dponts additional nodes page...on the left side there is a scrool bar that you can scrool through all the nodes... at the very bottom of that you will see a section that says intel only... thats where you can find the node item motion.

I would just upload it for you, but I dont know how he would feel about that?

You should be able to find it though...

anyway... here is the vid
http://soldierwithin.home.comcast.net/~soldierwithin/tritek/forzap.mov

This could be done in three morphs, but you need to have points as place holders for all the peices. Those points will also be part of the morph!

left, right, and down should be all morphs you need. After you have the wheels atatched to the point place holders and everything is moving the way you want it... You are going to either have to animate the rotation by hand, or right an expresion that links the rotation of the wheels to the morph amount channel.

zapper1998
03-22-2009, 09:39 PM
ok found it..
did not see the linky tell i moused over it

no mouse over
71390

mouse over
71391

Saw a few others that way, no wonder i never got them....
they were hidding.....

Michael

zapper1998
03-22-2009, 09:43 PM
anyway... here is the vid
http://soldierwithin.home.comcast.net/~soldierwithin/tritek/forzap.mov

no worky ??

bryguy
03-22-2009, 09:52 PM
I gotta run out for about a bit... mess with it, and let me know if you got it figured out. Ill be back in a half hour if you get stuck...

The key is to have those points as place holders for the wheels that morph with the cable.

You should only need one wheel if they are all the same size. It should be at 000 in modeler and then clone it in layout...

bryguy
03-22-2009, 09:54 PM
http://soldierwithin.home.comcast.net/~soldierwithin/forzap.mov

my bad

zapper1998
03-22-2009, 09:58 PM
me have to go to work
will play with it tommorrow

watched the vid and wow ok i see ... :)


THANK YOU

Michael

lwaddict
03-23-2009, 07:41 AM
Ok, now that we can see what you're trying for...

It appears that you're aiming at a realistic simulation...
using all the tools at your disposal, you'll have some issues.

First, the shed might tilt over to the left or right as I don't see how it's balanced on those sides... but only if you're going for realistic.

Me? I'd simulated this using bones and morphs as described earlier...
for control purposes.

Easier and fast and full control is retained.

Start giving this it's own calculations and it might shock you how unstable that lift is without some straps to keep the shed from flipping over.

Just my two cents, I could be wrong. :cool:

zapper1998
03-23-2009, 04:39 PM
Here is what I came up with looks really great..

71433


Thank You Mr. Bryguy

:)
Michael

bryguy2
03-23-2009, 04:52 PM
cool...Glad to help.
the .mov wont play for me though.

zapper1998
03-23-2009, 05:21 PM
cool...Glad to help.
the .mov wont play for me though.

this one i hope

71434


Michael

bryguy2
03-23-2009, 05:29 PM
Thats it...
How did you end up doing the rotation? looks like they could be spinn a bit faster.

zapper1998
03-23-2009, 05:54 PM
I cut the pulleys from the rig, and pasted them to the Hook object, new layer, I adjusted the Pivot point of the Hook to adjust for the placement with the cable..
Ya i need to spin it a little faster, just put a 360 degree rotation for testing..

bryguy2
03-23-2009, 06:00 PM
so you moved the pivot to get it to line up...looks good
Post the final when your done.

zapper1998
03-23-2009, 06:03 PM
so you moved the pivot to get it to line up...looks good
Post the final when your done.

I will do that most Deffenately.. :)

Thanks Again..

Michael

zapper1998
03-23-2009, 06:56 PM
the rendered Little animation of the hook and cable..

the test anyways

71435


Michael

zapper1998
03-25-2009, 05:17 PM
Ok here we go....
I Have the cable up down working real well...

Now I want to make the Cable go Left and Right I have the Morph for the L & R
I tried adding another morph map to the Displacement For the Cable, but it will only
allow 1 map per displacement How do I add 2 more morph maps to the displacement??

HELP .... thanks...

I will keep tinkering..

Michael

adrian63georgin
03-29-2009, 05:28 PM
Hi , I would like to know if I can do character animation with morph in lightwave?

please I need help.

Thank you , Adrian