PDA

View Full Version : Please help me with crackit



B166erunit
03-17-2009, 08:53 AM
Does it just not work for Mac or what?

I can't crack up anything, not even a simple square.

I'm running lightwave on a Mac Pro

I have a project due in two days, to complete it I have to blow up a building

I go to utilities and select the .ls, then apply the standard settings and it starts breaking up the object but fails after a few seconds. I tried making the suggested changes, but it fails everytime.

i downloaded from this link.
http://www.lwplugindb.com/Plugin.aspx?id=5754803d


Everytime it fails it says:

Unable to regenerate contour
This may be caused by highly non-planar polygons, or by ambiguous overlap between polygon edges and the cutting tool. Triple non-planar polygons or add a small offset to data and try again.

i have attached a screenshot jpeg.

B166erunit
03-17-2009, 10:22 AM
sorry i gotta keep bumping this up in hopes that someone might be able to help

realgray
03-17-2009, 06:42 PM
is the building already modeled, or are you going to model then break it?
Are there any other 3d programs that you have? Some people export their object from lightwave to say, Houdini/Max, break it up and then import and smash/render.

prometheus
03-18-2009, 06:30 AM
crackit works with the latest 9.6 versions..not 9.3 or 9.5 thou as what I know.

but all this is on the Pc side.

Michael

animotion
03-19-2009, 01:37 PM
Sorry, I don't do crack.

dulo
03-19-2009, 01:56 PM
I can confirm that CrackIt works with LW9.6 but it only works for 32 Bit. NO chance on x64. The behaviour sounds very much like CrackIt on x64.

Good Luck

Dulo

Chilton
03-19-2009, 08:07 PM
Hi B166erunit!

If you're having Mac problems, asking about them in the Mac section of the forum usually gets you a faster response. Speaking only for myself, I seldom venture out of that section because I check the forums most often while waiting for things to happen in the debugger, or compiling, etc. But when I peek in the main forum, I have a tendency to read every...single...thread and soon find myself a few hours older, but a few hours more behind ;)

In this case, this is the first I've heard of this problem, but I'd be happy to look into it if you can give me some specifics. But remind me over in the Mac forum, please.

Thanks!
-Chilton

(going back in my cave now...)

erikals
11-23-2009, 05:32 PM
sorry for the bump, just wanted to add "Breakit" as an alternative... \:l
http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=96094

K-Dawg
12-07-2009, 01:00 PM
Anybody might know what problems I'm having?

When I run latest Crack it I get Fatal: 001
Does anyone maybe know why?

Running LW 9.6 Win64 on Vista.

Test was on a simple 1m Default box.

Sorry for bump, I didn't want to start a new Thread.

Greetz

erikals
12-07-2009, 02:47 PM
Yep, tested it,...
Win64 won't work, you need Win32

K-Dawg
12-08-2009, 07:13 AM
Oh Man... Too bad.

Thx for the info.

Greetz

OnlineRender
12-08-2009, 07:29 AM
Yep, tested it,...
Win64 won't work, you need Win32

This may work or not ,sorry not at work so I can' test !

Can you not right click on the application for example LW and select compatibilty ,and run another method ! it may work or I might be talking one load of crap , either way worth a bash :D

lwaddict
12-08-2009, 07:41 AM
You know...
you can have both the 32bit and 64bit versions of Lightwave running on the same machine...

for just such and emergency.

http://i107.photobucket.com/albums/m307/YamikoNumber7/Macros/foghorn.jpg

iain_r
12-08-2009, 01:17 PM
This is the where the code falls over ( for me ), the fatal error is returned from the calling funtion as this function fails when looping through the if(boolean(SUBTRACT). I'm trying to debug this just so that I can find out what is causing this.

MakeCutter: mw
{
debug();
var empty[2]; empty = GetEmptyLayers(2);
lyrsetfg(empty[1]);
makedisc(mw*4,2*mw,-2*mw,Y,3,1,<0,2*mw,0>);
cut();
makebox(<-mw,-2*mw,-mw>,<mw,mw,mw>);
lyrsetbg(empty[2]);
lyrswap();
var i;
for(i=1;i<=20;i++){
paste();
var x = (randu>.5? .5:-.5)*sqrt(randu())*mw;
var cxx = x*x/(2*mw);
rotate(deg(atan(x/(1*mw))),Z);
move(x,-cxx,0);
rotate(randu()*360,Y);
lyrswap();
if(boolean(SUBTRACT) || MergePoints() == false){
delete();
lyrswap();
delete();
return false;
}
var bbl,bbp;
(bbl,bbh) = boundingbox();
bbh -= bbl;
if(mw < max(bbh.x,max(bbh.y,bbh.z))*.25){
error("Fatal: Code 005.");
}
lyrswap();
delete();
}
lyrswap();
return true;
}

The makecutter is called from within the crack function.

Regards

Iain.

iain_r
12-08-2009, 02:10 PM
I've run this with the delete of the temporary objects commented out and I end up with holes in the model and additional double sided polys attached outside the size of the original model.

I've also managed to get the boolean subtract to create the same message regarding the contours when using a flipped poly when manually testing the subtract, can't always repeat it though.

Regards

Iain.

CC Rider
12-08-2009, 02:38 PM
Does it have to be photoreal when it breaks apart?
After Effects has a pretty cool little filter that you can use to blow stuff up called "Shatter" in the Simulation section.
(don't know if you even have AE or not...)
It won't fool anybody, but it may work well enough depending on your needs. I've used it before...it's pretty cool...

:D