PDA

View Full Version : Layout renders the wrong colors... you've gotta see it to believe it



hurleyman
03-16-2009, 09:28 AM
Whiskey Tango Foxtrot, over?

I've tried reloading the scene, restarting LW, and rebooting the computer. Nothing changes. I've systematically disabled anything that's raytraced (refraction, reflection, radiosity, transparency, shadows, etc.) and I get a different result every time, but it's still the weird colors. I even let the whole render finish and saved the file. The file was nicely AA'd but still freaky colors. Take a look... well, they're in the attachments.

Hurley <><

Hopper
03-16-2009, 10:19 AM
Holy cow man.. What have you done!!??!

Is it only this scene or any scene you load into Layout? Is the scene from a previous version?

If it's only this scene, try creating a new one, render out a box or something to make sure it's working correctly, then import the object and see if it still happens.

PointC
03-16-2009, 10:22 AM
Strange... that looks like some of the weird stuff I see in the Fprime window while using some nodes. Yeah - do what Hopper said - just render a box or ball or something just to see how bad things are. Good luck.

Matt
03-16-2009, 10:53 AM
Do you have any radiosity flags set?

cagey5
03-16-2009, 11:17 AM
Do you have any radiosity flags set?

That would have been my guess too.

Hopper
03-16-2009, 11:51 AM
Do you have any radiosity flags set?
Out of curiosity Matt, what flags would cause this and why? (if you don't mind explaining that is). If my renders started looking like that, I would have no idea - so it would be nice to understand. :)

cagey5
03-16-2009, 11:56 AM
Try reading the 'secrets' bit at the bottom of Exceptions radiosity tute.

http://www.except.nl/lightwave/RadiosityGuide95/index.htm

Matt
03-16-2009, 12:05 PM
Actually, they are not that secret anymore, the button is right there on the interface:

http://www.except.nl/lightwave/RadiosityGuide96/index.htm#flags

Hopper
03-16-2009, 12:07 PM
Actually, they are not that secret anymore, the button is right there on the interface:

http://www.except.nl/lightwave/RadiosityGuide96/index.htm#flags
Explains perfectly. Thank you sirs.. :)

Riff_Masteroff
03-16-2009, 03:33 PM
Good thread! Well, hurleyman, is that the problem? . . . experimental button pushing?

Kuzey
03-16-2009, 04:13 PM
I had a problem where a couple of node connections caused the whole render to look awful. Could be something similar:

http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=95606

Kuzey

colkai
03-17-2009, 05:41 AM
Looking at that, I'd deffo guess it's the render flags showing the samples.

hurleyman
03-17-2009, 06:54 AM
This one was weird.

Well, I sort of combined Matt's and Hopper's suggestions. I brought the same object into a brand new scene and it rendered just fine (nothing raytraced). I added one raytraced element at a time until I was using all of them, even radiosity. Still nothing strange was happening. Then I remembered my SkyTracer2 that I had in the original. Sure enough, as soon as I added that it went all funkylicious again. So I removed the SkyTracer2 environment and it seems to be rendering just fine now.

Thanks for all your help guys. And as a reward, here's what it's supposed to look like ;-) This render took 11h 41m with a 3GHz Phenom II (black) and 4GB of DDR2 RAM.

Matt
03-17-2009, 07:47 AM
11hrs seems quite high, what were your render settings (http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=94181)?