PDA

View Full Version : Rendering scene



Stephen0523
03-16-2009, 05:24 AM
Hi all. I am trying to render a fairly short scene and it is taking a very long time (2 days)
Any tips on what is the quickest way to render a scene that is still good quality. I am just rendering the frames as jpg's not a QuickTime movie.

toby
03-16-2009, 06:04 AM
It really depends on the scene, so you should describe it as well as you can, if you can't post a copy of it here.

But you can start by turning down the Ray Recursion to 4 or less, turn off whatever raytracing you can, turn down area light quality, experiment with anti-aliasing to find optimum settings.

And you did good by not rendering to a Quicktime, but for god's sake don't render to Jpg! That cuts down your quality right off the bat, and you can't save an alpha channel either. Use .png, .tga, .tif, .psd or .exr

Stephen0523
03-16-2009, 06:13 AM
Here is the images.
I turned off Sky Tracer and that helped, but I really wanted a sky image in the background.
I just lowered the Ray Recursion to 4 as it was at 17.
Antialiasing is set to medium enhanced.
I chose jpg as I want to import the sequence into QuickTime.
There are no shadows in the image I am sending you as I just realized Raytrace shadows was turned off.

toby
03-16-2009, 06:20 AM
You can render a skytracer image to a spherical map, then put it in the background so it doesn't have to calculate every time. This will show you how:
ftp://ftp.newtek.com/products/LightWave/Trial/Videos/ACT.mov

And Quicktime has no problem loading the other formats, except .exr.

How long are these frames taking anyway?

Stephen0523
03-16-2009, 06:50 AM
The frame are taking a while. The screen capture is just a frame render I started 25 minutes ago.

Stephen0523
03-16-2009, 07:25 AM
Thanks. Will give it a try.

accom
03-16-2009, 07:43 AM
16 threads? Unless you have 8 core machine with enough ram, that's slowing it down to.

Stephen0523
03-16-2009, 07:52 AM
I do have an 8 core machine with 16 gigs of ram.

toby
03-16-2009, 03:46 PM
Rendering full MC radiosity with the classic camera is going to take a while. Why not look into interpolated MC radiosity and the global illumination caching options?
Oy! Yea, it will go a hell of a lot faster with interpolation.

Hopper
03-16-2009, 04:28 PM
16 threads? Unless you have 8 core machine with enough ram, that's slowing it down to.
Not usually. I have a Q6600 and most of the time 16 threads are usually a few seconds faster per frame depending on what your render settings are of course. I have yet to see it slower in any case (+/- 5 seconds per frame).

toby
03-16-2009, 04:46 PM
Not usually. I have a Q6600 and most of the time 16 threads are usually a few seconds faster per frame depending on what your render settings are of course. I have yet to see it slower in any case (+/- 5 seconds per frame).
yup, especially with the classic cam. I always use 8 threads on my dual 1-core with classic.

JonW
03-16-2009, 07:09 PM
Do you really need Caustics on in this scene.
Your V8 should be screaming through this scene.
Classic Camera is usually slower, try using Perspective Camera.
RRL you can usually get away with 1 numeral higher than the number of transparent surfaces in front of each other.

My 5450 V8 renders a touch quicker with 8 threads rather than 16 threads.