PDA

View Full Version : UV for Newbie

Matelot13
03-11-2009, 05:17 AM
Hello everyone
This is my first post here. I'm new to Lightwave, coming from Modo, which I still prefer (for now) for modeling, but I got Lightwave for its flexibility and render capabilities. Also, most of what's been announced for Modo 401 is already on LW 9.6, so...

I'm slowly getting a grip of the material editor and the hundreds of different windows that you can open ;-), but I haven't really understood how LW works regarding UVs.. Is there an unwrap tool ? Can someone point me to a thread or video where that's explained?

Thanks in advance

PS : Here's my first try with LW, combining the Basketball tut and the tennisball FFX tut...http://i85.servimg.com/u/f85/11/15/41/92/basket10.jpg

IMI
03-11-2009, 07:30 AM
Cool texturing. Not entirely realistic, but it looks really good. :thumbsup:

As for UV mapping in LW... well now, that's an interesting subject. Not that it can't be done, but...

You might as well plan on keeping modo around for that. ;)
You can do *basic* UV-ing in LW easily enough and of course if you're into it, you can always spend hours dragging points around manually...

But there's absolutely nothing that you can do in Modeler for UV's that you can't do more easily in modo. And that's to say that most of what you can do in modo can't be done in Modeler, far as UV mapping goes. Modo has far more versatile UV tools built in. And the cool thing is, you can do your UV's in modo and export as .lwo.

Having said that, here's a link to some excellent *free* UV mapping plugins for Modeler: LINKY. (http://homepage2.nifty.com/nif-hp/index2_english.htm)
They come in 32 and 64 bit for Windows and for Mac too. I think pretty much everyone here who does UV maps in LW uses them.

There are some tricks you can do in Modeler and even Layout to make UV's with, a few rather ingenious workarounds to LW's glaring UV deficiency, but the plugins above are alot simpler to deal with.

Matelot13