PDA

View Full Version : Anyone here use NAS drives?

stevecullum
03-08-2009, 02:44 PM
I'm thinking about getting a NAS drive, so I can setup a RAID based backup solution. I was thinking a 2 x 1TB should do the trick, but I'm a noob at this sort of thing!

If one drive dies, say in 3 years time, do I have to find an exact replica in order to replace it or can I just use any drives:question:

Any recommendations on brand or type. Not sure if I should buy one which include HDD or just empty case...

Thanks for any info :)

Hopper
03-08-2009, 03:03 PM
If one drive dies, say in 3 years time, do I have to find an exact replica in order to replace it or can I just use any drives:question:
It depends on "how" you plan on implementing your RAID system. If it is strictly a hardware implementation, you will have to consult the manual because it will vary between systems. If you are planning on using a software RAID setup, then the closer you get to similar sizes, they better off you are and the less space you will waste.

If you plan on using two 1TB disks, then you will be implementing a RAID 1 solution (mirroring), which will be slow if each drive is using the same controller. You could also implement RAID 0+1 with soft partitions. This will allow you to stripe your data across partitions (two drives) , then mirror those two drives. Again, this will be slow with only one controller.

If data safety is your concern (i.e. backup), for an average setup you should use 4 drives in a RAID 0+1 configuration with two controllers. This will allow you to both read and write and higher speeds while maintaining data integrity. If someone recommends a RAID 5 solution, it's a safe bet they are clueless and you should move on unless you plan on creating some sort of data warehouse out of your system.