PDA

View Full Version : Alt + LMB Rotate vs. Button Rotate (I'm a noob that needs help)

C4L
03-08-2009, 03:12 AM
I used 3ds Max a long time ago, and wanted to get back into messing around with modeling, and decided on Lightwave after seeing that it's basically a Hollywood standard, if I ever decide to pursue a career around modeling.

After searching with a bunch of different terms I found a thread relating to my issue: http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=66620&highlight=alt

But it didn't answer my questions, what is the difference between the two rotate options? I'm new to Lightwave, and find it frustrating when my viewport goes all weird (using Alt + LMB) like in the screenshot in the above linked thread.

My questions:

Why would you use Alt + LMB rotate over the button rotate (excluding shortcut reasons), users in that thread say they love it?

Is there a way to map Alt + LMB to use the same type of rotation as the button?

Is there a faster way to reset the perspective view apart from holding Ctrl and moving LMB while clicking the button rotate?

toby
03-08-2009, 04:35 AM
Alt-LMB can 'bank' the view, the button cannot, just like in that image. All you need to understand about Alt-LMB is that it acts like a trac-ball that fits in the viewport; click-drag on the ball, and you can rotate it just like a trac-ball. Click-drag outside the ball and it only rotates the bank. To reset, go to an empty layer and press shift - a (fit all).

There's someone else who just started here, we told him a bunch of things he needed to know, I'll try to find the thread

toby
03-08-2009, 04:45 AM
here it is
http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=95990&

and btw, welcome to the forums!

Lewis
03-08-2009, 05:02 AM