PDA

View Full Version : I know it's been asked, computer specs

KevinL
03-07-2009, 01:18 PM
I just haven't found a useful/clear answer.

I need an assist in pointing me in the right direction for a new system. I know this gets asked all the time, but in looking at the different forums, in different disciplines, I have come away completely confused.

I have had a lot of experiences building my own boxes, but quit paying attention to all the details when companies started playing marketing games with chip designations and I needed to be working on producing video rather than researching/keeping up with all the specs. If folks can help me clarify whatís really important in putting together a new system, it would be truly appreciated. As I understand it, a quad core, not sure of the adequate vs. killer processor speeds, lots of RAM (not sure of the actual really adequate amount) and massive disk throughput.

Currently:
Pentium 4 3.2g w/hyperthreading
4 gig RAM, SATA drives (8 drives), Nvidia 7600 GT
Additional ATA IDE card, additional firewire ports, additional usb
Windows XP Pro

What Iím doing: Video Post (the Adobe CS4 Master Collection), 3D animation, After Effects, Photoshop, Cakewalk Sonar 8, etc

The current machine worked well for a SD workflow and O.K. for 3D, etc

What I need now: I am migrating to an HD workflow. Currently, with my existing system
720p 60 P2 footage will play (sort of) it needs to be in draft mode and its not smooth temporally.