PDA

View Full Version : humanoid made of objects??



flux71
03-04-2009, 06:53 PM
say i export a mesh for poser and want to have a human body made from "cell phones"

would replacing the points with objects be a good way to achieve this?

any help appreciated,

steve

probiner
03-04-2009, 08:30 PM
"mesh for poser" for or from poser?

I don't know how you could achive that well. Only thing i remember is to use 3D-coat ( u can use the demo for 45 days) with the volumetric sculpture, merge a lot of cellphones on the model. But i guess its a messy way of doing it. Good luck

dwburman
03-04-2009, 08:34 PM
The first thing I can think of is using HD_Instance to place the phones. It excels at this sort of thing. Of course, if you don't have have HD instance, you may be able to pull it off with FX-Linker in Layout or by putting the phones in place in modeler possibly using Point Clone+ or a third party plug-in to make placing the phones easier. If you don't want the phones to bend with the animation you'll probably want to animate a lower res mesh and use FX Hard Linker (look here for an example (http://www.spinquad.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=986))

The first step in any of those scenarios is to make sure your model has the right number of points or polys otherwise there'd be too many phones on the face and hands and probably too few on the torso.

realgray
03-04-2009, 10:19 PM
Here is a fantastic example of the effect

http://www.theembassyvfx.com/qt/citroen_ghostbusters_reloaded.html

No idea how they pulled it off, sorry

dwburman
03-04-2009, 10:36 PM
Also, check out http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=91089&highlight=puzzle

cresshead
03-05-2009, 02:20 AM
just scatter them over the mesh and hide the body mesh...

flux71
03-05-2009, 08:23 AM
thanks for all the options posted. will give these a try and see
what works best without killing the machine.

going to try the point clone option first.

question: say you've got a hi-res phone model with a good deal of parts.

should i merge the phone first and reduce to a good low-poly count?

flux71
03-05-2009, 09:52 AM
starting out with a 1000 poly count phone and ending up with 1million polys when point clone is applied.

with that many polys, can't import to layout. would FX linker be a better way to go ? does FX linker treat the phone as "instances" instead of increasing the poly count?

flux71
03-05-2009, 05:26 PM
thinking of rendering a bunch of passes with different objects.

this was done with point clone plus. would HD instance make it easier to have multiple objects instanced rather than rendering out a good deal of passes for each object?

see attached.

Mike_RB
03-05-2009, 06:02 PM
We did the citroen picasso monster using instances constrained to a surface in XSI. We ended up doing a lot of hand placing to get the look the clients wanted.

flux71
03-05-2009, 06:54 PM
thank you for you post mike.

great reel. dig your space ship style. they kinda remind me of the predator alien mouth ;) that's not meant to be a bad thing. they look awsome.

perhaps "sticky" plugin might help achieve this in LW.

by the way, how hard of a transition is it for LW users to jump into XSI? i hear many LW are making this jump. main benefits?

dwburman
03-05-2009, 10:08 PM
FX_Linker will get the phone into Layout, but it creates a bunch of copies of the objects. HD_Instance is probably the best way to do this in LW.

With that said, by looking at the image you posted, I would say that you don't need nearly as much geometry as you are using. You could make a much lower res version of the phone and use a normal map to give the illusion of more detail so you may be able to do this without HD_Instance.

As you mentioned, you can break it up and render in passes.

Mike_RB
03-06-2009, 06:37 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LDnXjx6Ht70 Lightwave as far as I know.
Maybe this is a good task for the anchor plugin??

Wasn't that done by you guys at embassy?

Nope.

realgray
03-06-2009, 10:33 AM
We did the citroen picasso monster using instances constrained to a surface in XSI. We ended up doing a lot of hand placing to get the look the clients wanted.

Great Job Mike, I figured you were behind it but I didn't want to be pushy by asking how you did it. Awesome stuff. I originally found it on the modo site under the latest modcast.

Sekhar
03-06-2009, 11:14 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LDnXjx6Ht70 Lightwave as far as I know.
Maybe this is a good task for the anchor plugin??

Wasn't that done by you guys at embassy?

Wow, that's just incredible! Realy, really cool.

lwaddict
03-06-2009, 11:58 AM
Multiple passes with sticky object? Hmm?