PDA

View Full Version : SubD modelling



Soth
03-04-2009, 01:05 AM
Hi,
Soon I will teach few people subdivision modelling. Because 99% of my time in Modeler is doing polygonal hard surface models I need to catch up little bit.

So I played around for a while and I have few questions / things that I am not sure about:


I love rounder tool, but to do nice and smooth subdivision edges no tool like that is needed, I got idea to use OpenGL polygon option to add smoothness but I run into two problems. Firstly, OpenGL polygons work only as a percentage of actual bevel number, so after setting up bevel to 0 cm I am just not getting any additional polygon for OpenGL smoothness. Secondly obviously there is option for one polygon like that, who would need two OpenGL polygons, silly me.

I am an artist, I mostly model in perspective window but I do believe in precision. LightWave gives me tools to be really precise so I hate relative options in BandSaw/bandSwqa Pro! Any chances to find workaround or similar tool to BandSaw but with possibility to put relative numbers, like 5mm/1m or other?

Is possible to render geometry of same object in higher subdivision level pre polygon when some bits are closer to camera than others. Like in big spaceship when showing big close up of the bay area and all other bits are far away or even outside camera view?

Soth
03-04-2009, 03:50 AM
I got BandSaw with metric offset, but it does not work with LightWave snapping. When I just click trying to do 10 cm I am getting numeric results like 10.1542 cm... little bit funny :D

I anyone intrested here is the tool (http://www.trueart.eu/?URIType=Directory&URI=Products/Plug-Ins/SwiftEdgeLoop#Videos), it is quite nice interactive BandSaw anyway.

Sarford
03-04-2009, 07:23 AM
I love rounder tool, but to do nice and smooth subdivision edges no tool like that is needed, I got idea to use OpenGL polygon option to add smoothness but I run into two problems. Firstly, OpenGL polygons work only as a percentage of actual bevel number, so after setting up bevel to 0 cm I am just not getting any additional polygon for OpenGL smoothness. Secondly obviously there is option for one polygon like that, who would need two OpenGL polygons, silly me.

I don't understand your question here. You don't need a rounder tool for subd modeling (as you stated). But what are openGL polygons and why would you wanna use them??



Is possible to render geometry of same object in higher subdivision level pre polygon when some bits are closer to camera than others. Like in big spaceship when showing big close up of the bay area and all other bits are far away or even outside camera view?

What is pre polygon?? You can have adaptive subdividing in LW. There must be some video tutorial around somewhere. I'll give it a look.

Found it. Just use a gradient in the Render subpatch channel and set it to distance to camera.

Soth
03-04-2009, 09:48 AM
For SubD I need to do 'flat bevel' or BandSaw to maintain
mechanic look and get just a little bit of SubD beveling at the end.

Shall be 'per polygon'... :) but you guessed right, than you. Actually I knew everything to work it out but I did not, great idea. (or I am stupid) :)

JeffrySG
03-04-2009, 10:33 AM
For my subd work I absolutely love the SwiftEdgeLoop plugin from TrueArt.
http://www.trueart.pl/?URIType=Directory&URI=Products/Plug-Ins/SwiftEdgeLoop

Also, you might want to take a look at some of my subd tutorials if you're just getting started in LW subd work. They're free.
http://www.pixelandpoly.com/video.html

APS will let you render at higher resolutions for specific areas on subd models. There are a few videos on it around. If you scroll down this page has a few on it.
http://www.newtek.com/lightwave/tutorials.php

Soth
03-04-2009, 12:02 PM
;)

IMI
03-04-2009, 12:39 PM
For my subd work I absolutely love the SwiftEdgeLoop plugin from TrueArt.
http://www.trueart.pl/?URIType=Directory&URI=Products/Plug-Ins/SwiftEdgeLoop



Oh man, I never even heard of that plugin before. And it comes in 64 bit too!
Thanks for posting that. :thumbsup:

Soth
03-04-2009, 09:27 PM
I posted it in my second post, looks like no one is reading my posts... ;(

IMI
03-04-2009, 09:31 PM
I posted it in my second post, looks like no one is reading my posts... ;(

Sorry about that.
You referred to it as "interactive BandSaw", which didn't do much for me so I didn't check it out.
But Jeffrey mentioned TrueArt and Edge Loop, and my ears perked right up. ;)

Surrealist.
03-04-2009, 11:27 PM
Hi,
Soon I will teach few people subdivision modelling.

If you are going to be teaching it, I have a tutorial that might help. You can even have them look at it. Good luck! :)

Soth
03-05-2009, 04:23 AM
Cheers mate. Tutorial is awesome, thank you, great work, will work great for students. :D

Andyjaggy
03-05-2009, 09:12 AM
For my subd work I absolutely love the SwiftEdgeLoop plugin from TrueArt.
http://www.trueart.pl/?URIType=Directory&URI=Products/Plug-Ins/SwiftEdgeLoop

Also, you might want to take a look at some of my subd tutorials if you're just getting started in LW subd work. They're free.
http://www.pixelandpoly.com/video.html

APS will let you render at higher resolutions for specific areas on subd models. There are a few videos on it around. If you scroll down this page has a few on it.
http://www.newtek.com/lightwave/tutorials.php

I couldn't live without swift edge loop. In fact that was one of my main reasons for wanting to join core, to make sure they natively implement a tool that works just like that. I was planning on screaming and waving my hands around until the devs listened and did it. :) I'm sure Sensei will port it over to Core, but I'd rather have it native.

Surrealist.
03-05-2009, 12:04 PM
Cheers mate. Tutorial is awesome, thank you, great work, will work great for students. :D

No problem, hope it helps.

For Core people this page has a tool called Loop Subdivide and also talks about a few of the other face and edge tools in Blender. Some aspects of these tools are very handy and quick. Loop Subdivide is similar to Quick Edge Loop but you don't need a panel. It is activated by ctrl r and then you just hover the mouse - no dragging until you are ready to slide the edge. After that many things are accessible with key shorts you have to learn but when you learn them it is very fast and easy to create and control loops, even create multiple loops all interactively. Pretty cool stuff.

http://wiki.blender.org/index.php/Doc:Manual/Modelling/Meshes/Edge_and_Face_Tools

Soth
03-16-2009, 10:28 AM
I am practicing, and well it takes ages to learn, it think it will get intuitive but now I am running into troubles with geometry all the time, anyway after 3 hours I modelled... knife, tada!

The question is will it get easier soon? I am experienced modeller just never modelled anything in SubPatches...

THREEL
03-16-2009, 03:00 PM
Do you know if the SwiftEdgeLoop plugin works in :lwicon: 8.5? If not, is there something similar that will?

Andyjaggy
03-16-2009, 05:04 PM
Do you know if the SwiftEdgeLoop plugin works in :lwicon: 8.5? If not, is there something similar that will?

No idea. Take a look at his site and see what it says.

THREEL
03-16-2009, 09:31 PM
No idea. Take a look at his site and see what it says.

Nope...v9.0+ Drats!!!

Kuzey
03-17-2009, 06:36 AM
I am practicing, and well it takes ages to learn, it think it will get intuitive but now I am running into troubles with geometry all the time, anyway after 3 hours I modelled... knife, tada!

The question is will it get easier soon? I am experienced modeller just never modelled anything in SubPatches...

Hey Soth,

Here's a quick a step by step guide that might help get you on the right track :D


Kuzey

JeffrySG
03-17-2009, 07:38 AM
Hey Soth,
Here's a quick a step by step guide that might help get you on the right track :D
Kuzey

That's a great little step by step Kuzey!

@Soth: most of the subd work is just keeping all of the basics in mind as you model. It does get easier. Keep on modeling simple objects and then slowly start to add more detail or other shapes. It will come with time and practice.

Sensei
03-18-2009, 01:04 AM
Do you know if the SwiftEdgeLoop plugin works in :lwicon: 8.5? If not, is there something similar that will?

It requires v9.0+ to accelerate operation, therefore it works smoothly with high poly objects.. Such tool for LW v8.5 would require analyze of the whole geometry in layer, which means the more geometry the slower..

Drocket
03-18-2009, 03:13 AM
Hey Soth,

Here's a quick a step by step guide that might help get you on the right track :D


Kuzey

That is a great little tutorial Kuzey, thanks for sharing :)

IMI
03-18-2009, 04:04 AM
Hey Soth,

Here's a quick a step by step guide that might help get you on the right track :D


Kuzey

Wow, that *IS* a great little tutorial. Thank you. :thumbsup:

Kuzey
03-18-2009, 06:13 AM
I'm glad you guys liked it :D

Kuzey

colkai
03-18-2009, 07:28 AM
May I also chime in here with thanks?
So obvious when you think of it, but *before* you think of it..ahh. quite. :D

Kuzey
03-18-2009, 07:39 AM
Actually, I wouldn't have come up with it if I didn't see Soth's model. It's one of those ah ha moments....like a light globe turning on in cartoons when someone gets an idea :D

Kuzey

Surrealist.
03-19-2009, 12:08 AM
Great one Kuzey.

I linked it here (http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?p=853302#post853302).

Kuzey
03-19-2009, 08:03 AM
Hi guys, I found a problem with Multishift, it acts up without reason. It works fine on one copy of the mesh and goes crazy on the same model on a different layer.

The solution is to use Extender Plus on the outer loop and then use Multishift as normal. Merge points and delete the resulting 2 point polys and you're back to fine again.

Ps..only do that if it acts up on you :D

Kuzey