PDA

View Full Version : Lightwave Audio Problem - Trying to sync voice?

affloeck
03-02-2009, 05:43 PM
I'm a beginner animator and I'm sorry if this question has been addressed previously to this forum but I can't find an answer to it anywhere.

When I load an audio clip in Scene Editor and I play each frame in the timeline, the audio file plays it at a slower rate. So, when I am trying to sync voice to my characters mouth movements, it looks great when I scroll through the timeline (with the slowed down audio) but when I make a preview, it is completely off because the audio plays at normal speed. Anyone have an answer to this? Your help is greatly appreciated.

-Adam

toby
03-03-2009, 03:16 AM
Using a different program, like Premiere, to see what frame each phonoem falls on, recording it on a sheet, ( 'O' sound at frame 54, etc.) then using that sheet to animate with, is a workflow I learned from someone who animated Shrek and Gollum so I tend to go with that :)

LW's audio is not quite up to the task - but then, it's not an audio program...

CC Rider
03-03-2009, 03:37 PM
I wouldn't take this as the "gospel" but, in the past when I have needed to sync audio I noticed that the sync is much more reliable when you scrub the timeline back and forth and not so much when you generate a full on preview (backwards from what you might expect I know...). My projects came out pretty much on the money judging the sync by scrubbing and ignoring the audio when I used previews.
Granted I wasn't doing lip sync work but it did sync up with the sound effects etc...
might be worth a test if you can eliminate the step of having to use an external editor...

:D

affloeck
03-03-2009, 10:42 PM