PDA

View Full Version : Volumetric Lights

jasonwestmas
02-28-2009, 12:06 PM
Would someone be so kind as to tell me how I would go about blurring the edges of the volumetric lights, there doesn't seem to be a feature for it. I've never used V-Lights before.

Thanks for any guidance.

IMI
02-28-2009, 12:19 PM
I don't know if you can, but you might try some kind of texture within them, with gray at the edges of where you want the rays, so it isn't so harsh. Sort of like the transparency mapping deal. I'd assume values that aren't pure black or white wouldn't block or allow all light to pass through. The gobo effect with an edge falloff.
Just a guess though, really, and wouldn't help where the shadows come off an object.

EDIT:

That's one evil looking character there!

IMI
02-28-2009, 12:52 PM
Just did a quick test and you can soften that shadow some if you duplicate the volume light and offset it slightly from the first. Of course, the render time goes up.

Or, the "spinning light trick" might be worth looking into.

jasonwestmas
02-28-2009, 02:11 PM
Thanks IMI, I tried a cloud texture with "Texture only" checked and the light inside a light deal, but the edge is still pretty hard. Though it looks better. I forgot what that spinning light trick deal is. Is that PRM Blur with an animated spin on two axis?

P.S. yeah she looks like she's from mad max or something ;)

IMI
02-28-2009, 02:24 PM
Neat video by William Vaughn on the spinning light trick:

HERE (ftp://ftp.newtek.com/multimedia/movies/w3dw/spinlight.mov). Right click, save as...

It's rotating a light 720 degrees with a slight wobble on the bank over the course of a fractional frame. It simulates the effect of area light shadows or GI shadows in a still image or an animation. And yeah, you need MB on it as well as AA.

Having said that, I think another option might be GI, since it would fill in some of the harshness of the shadows.