PDA

View Full Version : Tricking the TricasterPro to make a Flash Archive WITHOUT a publishing point

Kurt_Henning
02-25-2009, 02:20 PM
I have used TCP since version 1. That was pre-Flash.

The flash option is terrific.

I have a client (TCP v2 owner) who does talking head video interview and many single client interviews. These are used for training purposes. At his location he can stream to his server, and create the needed flash files "on the fly."

In windows, you can push/pull the stream, so in one case, you don't need to have a publishing point, and simply archive the stream during production. This is very cool, and the basic of what I am trying to do, but with the Flash Format from the TCP2 directly.

In Flash, AFAIK you MUST have a publishing point. :stumped: I am far from a webstream expert. But, I have been in the video business for 20 years and have learned many techniques to "trick" a device into doing what I need to do. That is my goal here.

Since my computer networking skills are very limited, I was wondering if some clever person here might have an idea of how to do this? :help:

The client also has a modern Dell notebook, and a new MAcBookpro.

The client inquired if he could use the firewire output from the TCP and simply use an external notebook and encode the file there. This firewire out feature is a VT only feature. So, that's not a possibility with any version of the TCP. That would be an option, be is is a TCPv2 guy only.

He does not use his component out on the TCP. We discussed purchasing a $125 PCI card that accepts component video. The idea is to input the TCP output signal to either the mac or PC laptop, and then he could use the latest version of Flash Media Encoder (which he is also interested in, but that is another thread).

The $125 solution would work as soon as the part would arrive, unless someone sees an issue. If so please share.