PDA

View Full Version : t-rex texture LW8

Darth Buss
02-21-2009, 12:42 PM
Hey folks.

Ive been modeling in LW8 for a couple of years, but have yet to learn decent texturing. I now have built a t-rex and suddenly i have to color the bugger. Up until now i have built spaceships and other stuff that needs one texture pr surface, but the trex should be light at the belly and dark at the back and even darker round the eyes and so forth. Different bumpmaps to different parts would also be nice.
How do i go about doing that? Has it got something to do with weightmaps? I realy need some pointers here.

Thanks in advance.

Hopper
02-21-2009, 12:45 PM
Weightmaps and/or Vertex Color Maps will deinately suit your best interests for that kind of texturing. William Vaughan has a great video tutorial on that. He uses them for some basic coloring of a cartoon-like character, but the same method will apply to what you are trying to accomplish.

This should give you a better idea anyway. Hope it helps.

Using Vertex color Maps (ftp://ftp.newtek.com/multimedia/movies/w3dw/color.mov)

RebelHill
02-21-2009, 02:13 PM
u can use weights or vc maps as hopper says, in conjunction with procedurals and stuff... u can get some very natural lookin results that way... u can also UV the thing and paint maps in photoshop, which is more intuitive in a way, and lets u define/design the detail exactly without having to try and nudge procedurals about.. but its less interactive/tweakable...

Myagi
02-21-2009, 02:22 PM
Just curious, won't procedurals only work with UV projection methods, which will look strange if the object is animated (deformed by bones)?

EricJohnson1
02-21-2009, 03:41 PM
You can also paint something out in photoshop then import it into your 3D model.

SplineGod
02-21-2009, 05:00 PM
Procedurals work fine. you basically use the weight maps with gradients with blending set to alpha to blend between texture layers, UV maps, image maps etc.

Darth Buss
02-22-2009, 04:15 AM
Thanks guys.