PDA

View Full Version : how do I model this?

yorkshiretyker
02-20-2009, 07:52 AM
I'm quite new to lightwave so forgive me if this is a noob question.

I'm trying to model this desktop lamp, and am having trouble doing the corogated, springy part of the stand.

It's not a spring, and almost like individual segments, not its not made up of individual peices. and wondered if there was a quick and efficient way of making this.

http://i434.photobucket.com/albums/qq65/yorkshiretyker/lamp.jpg

RollerJesus
02-20-2009, 08:27 AM
The only was I see is to create a disc that is the height you want, use the numeric panel to add enough segments so it resembles the part in the lamp.

I select the second segment down, use extender (e) and scale it down to create the bevel you're looking for. (repeat for a nice microbevel) Then deselect and repeat this for every other segment working your way down the disc.

Ideally I'd like to select every other segment and do it all at once, but if you try that, it will scale them all relative to the origin/mouse/selection and you won't get the result you want. If you find a better way, please share.

`Patrick

Myagi
02-20-2009, 08:30 AM
I'm having a bit of a hard time seeing what exactly it looks like, is it like a thread or individual circular segments? if it's threaded you could look at the thread tutorial movie that was linked to here (http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=95476) the other day. You could probably do the same except add some edge bevels to make the "tips/peaks" wider.

If it's not threaded, just individual segs, couldn't you just make a disc, use multishift to bevel one segment into the shape you want and then array clone it.

Mind you I'm no modeling wizard, so it might be a case of the blind leading the blind ;)

edit: n/m I was too slow :)

Nangleator
02-20-2009, 08:43 AM
I've done things like this many times. Here's what I'd do.