PDA

View Full Version : Lightwave CORE, Quadro & i7



Kabaal
02-16-2009, 10:28 AM
Since Lightwave CORE is being rewritten from the ground up do you think it will be coded to take advantage of the quadro cards abilities, GPU rendering etc?
Same goes for the i7 chips with the hyper threading, will CORE take full advantage of those?

I have been thinking of upgrading my rig but at the moment with so many new chips etc coming out its difficult to know what will be the best investment. :confused:
Plus I'm thinking of joining HardCORE to get a look at CORE extra early.

Choices, choices, choices! :D

Anyone got any ideas re the above?

Myagi
02-16-2009, 10:38 AM
Have a look at the Tech FAQ (http://www.newtek.com/core/techfaq.php). That's all that is known so far.


LightWave CORE is completely multi-threaded, spawning as many threads as it needs. Completely multi-processor-aware, LightWave CORE is truly a next-generation development environment for innovative 3D applications. The system is both 32-bit and 64-bit compliant, and is capable of leveraging GPU power where applicable.

Alliante
02-16-2009, 10:40 AM
Same goes for the i7 chips with the hyper threading, will CORE take full advantage of those?

Almost any version of Lightwave can take advantage of this bit ;) (multithreaded rendering)

Hopper
02-16-2009, 10:42 AM
Remember ... "multithreaded" doesn't mean that it makes use of HyperThreading. The code must be very specific to make use of 'logical' CPU's. Simply spawning multiple threads will not produce any greater efficiency unless the hardware itself is directing its own HT instructions.

I don't know at this point if the i7 chipsets are doing this or not.

Kabaal
02-16-2009, 10:46 AM
Wow! Thanks for the quick replies everyone.
Guess its a case of watch this space.

Lightwolf
02-16-2009, 11:31 AM
Simply spawning multiple threads will not produce any greater efficiency unless the hardware itself is directing its own HT instructions.
Erm, but that's precisely what HT is doing.
There aren't any different APIs to use if you want to leverage HT. It may well be that the code runs slower... but that can happen on a multi-core system as well if you're not being careful - thus it's more of a general issue than HT related.

Cheers,
Mike

bobakabob
02-16-2009, 04:50 PM
Incredible that the i7 Dell is outperforming Xeon machines for under a grand...

JonW
02-16-2009, 05:00 PM
Some links with info that may help, V8 & i7.

http://www.3dspeedmachine.com/?page=3&scene=39

http://newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=91223&page=4