PDA

View Full Version : Archviz must-haves?

Nangleator
02-13-2009, 02:03 PM
I've gotten a nibble on some bargain-basement archviz work that a client may need. I'm no professional at that, so I've told the client I can be cheap, but don't expect me to be fast.

When the first sniff of money comes along, I'll buy LWCAD. What else should I consider? Is LW GI the right tool for the job? How important is it to buy libraries of furniture or loitering people? Is that sort of thing expensive?

I've got Polytrans with a CAD module. How are files usually given to you? How much work do you have to do on a CAD model after you get it into LW? Honestly, I don't even know if I'll get CAD models from this client. I may end up trying to decipher blueprints from a PDF.

How would you suggest I break into archviz?

*Pete*
02-13-2009, 02:58 PM
Archviz must haves....Lightwave.

to be successfull you need nothing more, LW is enough..its render engine is strong, its modelling abilities are great.

LWcad is great too, but you do not need it to get into archviz...i suggest you pay for LWcad and other plugins with the projects you get.

but, if you are into buying plugins...id buy HDInstance instead of LWcad..you can do everything that LWcad does in modeller, even if it is more of a job, but you cant do what HDinstance does in any other way than having the plugin.

i have been getting mainly PDF files or sketchy drawings on a piece of paper showing what im to construct, i havent built anything by actual Cad drawings yet...im sure others will advice you better on the workflow.

Tzan
02-13-2009, 03:54 PM
Pete has good advice.

3D people: http://www.axyz-design.com/
You cant use these for close ups, but are good at a distance.

3D Cars/people: http://www.lowpolygon3d.com/
Low poly and low price, Oh they have people now!
They have free samples.

Free furniture: http://www.e-interiors.net/
I havent tried them yet I usually just do exterior.

waly
02-13-2009, 04:24 PM