PDA

View Full Version : Sdts



LecturerAlan
08-13-2003, 11:34 AM
Has anyone come across a problem with the SDTS importer ?
I cannot get the darn thing to work either that or I have lost the plot or maybe I am trying to load the wrong data

Do any wavers have any ideas ?

Helllpppp.

Cobalt
08-13-2003, 12:17 PM
Here's how we do it:

1. Go to the following websites to get the SDTS data files. If they are in the US, you can usually get them for free.

http://www.mapmart.com/
http://www.usgs.gov/
http://mcmcweb.er.usgs.gov/sdts/hosts.html#geocomm

2. UnZip the SDTS / TAZ file.

3. Create a 10 x 10 plane / box in modeler. Sub-D it.

4. In layout / object properties / Geometry tab: set Display SubPatch level to 40 and Render SubPatch to 100.

5. In layout / object properties / Deform tab: Click on the "T" for displacement map. Open the Texure editor.

6. In the Texure Editor: Load Image (It can be any of the files that has a *.ddf" extension. The SDTS Loader somehow knows how to stich all these data tiles together.

See the enclosed image to see how we have it set up.

Hope this helps.

Cobalt
08-13-2003, 12:18 PM
Here's what the files look like.

Cobalt
08-13-2003, 12:20 PM
Here's how the object properties look.

Cobalt
08-13-2003, 12:21 PM
Here's what the SDTS Loader looks like.

Cobalt
08-13-2003, 12:23 PM
These are the Texture Editor settings we use.

LecturerAlan
08-13-2003, 02:42 PM
May my cup overflow---th

What an absolutely stunning answer to my question, Thank you very much cobalt.

Lightwave rocks..

With the arrogance of youth, I determined to do no less than to transform the world with Beauty.

William Morris

ceokeithb
03-24-2004, 05:20 PM
I like your description of the tut. But I still have a problem with the SDTS Loader. It will not launch. I went into the Layout/plugins and added all the plugins that I could find and it will not load. Is there any other way to launch the SDTS Loader so that this will work? This so cool and I want to try this tut. The only way that I can even see the *.ddf ext is to use the dropdown " all files". Any ideas?

Is the SDTS Loader supposed to appear like this ?


http://discdoctor.theshoppe.com/cgi-bin/image/templates/SDTS_LOADER.png

John Fornasar
03-24-2004, 06:27 PM
You don't launch the loader, LW opens it.
Walk through the instructions provided by Cobalt, and if it doesn't work come back again with the part you are stuck on and we'll walk you through.

ceokeithb
03-24-2004, 08:27 PM
I had to use note pad to edit the list of images that LW7.0 uses and that worked. I wasn't trying to launch SDTS loader. It just wasn't starting for me. Thanks a boat load for all the help that everyone gave & the cool tut.

High fives to everyone.:cool:

John Fornasar
03-24-2004, 08:37 PM
Glad you have it... you can also use wildcards in the File Requesters (*.*) if you know a file is in a directory and you are not seeing it.

You might also want to check out this tutorial (it was mentioned here recently):

SDTS-DEMS (http://www.nullspot.com/html/sdts_-_dems.html)

Differnt method, using tri's instead of subpatch... one point per pixel. You can end up with a really large file, but it may be easier to edit (to cut in roads, etc.).

ceokeithb
03-24-2004, 11:28 PM
Thanks for the road tip. I will give it a try, after I get this adding the bumps to the steep edges part down.
User error. Know what I mean.
:rolleyes: Thanks Again.

Fausto
03-25-2004, 10:37 AM
that's the second largest PNG file I've seen today. :D