PDA

View Full Version : Unbearably Slooowww!!!

HotShoe
02-08-2009, 05:01 PM
Sorry for such a bummer first post but I don't know where else to turn.

I'm a LW rookie and I am trying to learn the program. I have the entire set of Kurv dvd's and I am picking things up nicely. My only problem is for some reason LW is running so slow on my Mac I can't even move around an object in the viewports without an unbearable delay. It's so bad I've given up trying to use it. I thought the update would solve my problem but it's been bogged down since 7.5.

I just downloaded the new 9.6 update for PPC macs. I'm running LW on a dual 800 G5 with 8 gigs of ram. My system handles every app just fine but for some reason I can't use LW. I've tried a complete system reinstall to no avail. At this point I wonder if it's my video card and 30" cinema display slowing things down? I have no idea what it could be.

I even purchased a car model from 3d02 to see if it would work and it was worse. The model has @470,000 polygons and just one layer. I merge points but it did nothing. I can't even zoom in or out of a single viewport without waiting an eternity.

Does anyone have any idea what could be wrong? I've struck out everywhere and this is my last chance. I'm waiting to buy a new Mac Pro when they come out but I'm afraid I've sen soooo many posts saying LW doesn't work on Macs well I'm almost afraid to.

I just think I'm doing some dumb rookie mistake no one has caught. i refuse to believe the app runs like this on all Macs. If it did Newtek would never sell any copies.

Help!!!! Please!

Chilton
02-08-2009, 05:12 PM
Hi,

Try the Universal Binary. The PPC version is only for backwards compatibility with plug-ins that haven't made the transition to Universal Binary status yet. The UB of 9.6 should be much better.

Thanks,
-Chilton

(We use PPC G5s here as well, and it shouldn't have a problem with those files)

rakker16mm
02-08-2009, 05:15 PM