PDA

View Full Version : Illustrator Logos into Lightwave

Stephen0523
02-08-2009, 10:59 AM
Hi.
I am fairly new to Lightwave.
I am using 9.6.
I have a lot of Clients asking me to convert their logos into 3d which I have created in Illustrator CS3.

Is there a trick/shortcut/plugin/tutorial that can make the transition easier?
I am using a Mac Pro with 16GB Ram.

PointC
02-08-2009, 11:02 AM
There is a training video about EPS files and LW here:

http://www.newtek.com/lightwave/tutorials.php

Cheers

Stephen0523
02-08-2009, 11:15 AM
Thanks. Going through it now. I was hoping for a quicker way though.

hrgiger
02-08-2009, 11:17 AM
I've had mixed success with importing Illustrator files. If it's a lot of curves, you may lose some detail. I had a complex design I was trying to import and somebody ended up helping me with it. In the end though, I ended up doing a lot of editing once I got it into LW. That was a while ago though so it may be different now.

Stephen0523
02-08-2009, 11:20 AM
Thanks. I will do it the standard way to at least get through it, but it would be a great thing to see LW have an Importer (or maybe Illustrator have an Exporter) created.

Sekhar
02-08-2009, 11:40 AM
I haven't looked at the tut above, but the process for AI to LW is pretty straightforward. Just save the AI file in Illustrator 8 format (very important!) and import (File->Import->EPSF Loader). That's it.

Play with the options during import and you'll figure it out. One common setting is when you have compound paths in the AI file - in those cases, select the Auto AxisDrill so you get the holes pre-made.

archijam
02-08-2009, 12:28 PM
Thanks. Going through it now. I was hoping for a quicker way though.

What could be easier that importing an EPS?

There are a few things to be aware of:
Cleaning up the geometry in AI first will help. I often 'add points' to my paths many times, then simplify - convert to lines, and thus change complex curves into elegant but straight-line-based vectors.