PDA

View Full Version : Edge weight



Dreamer
02-07-2009, 02:16 PM
I was wondering if LW has edge weighting like Modo. I know I can assign a weight to the edge and see it change color, but is there a way of seeing it happen in the Modeler window?

gordonrobb
02-07-2009, 02:48 PM
You can use edge weighting, set the viewer to 'weight shade'. I am farely sure it only works with CC SubDs though.

geothefaust
02-07-2009, 02:50 PM
It only works with CC, that is correct. There is a major problem with it of course, as they could never get it fully implemented into LW9.

So, if you do plan on using edge weighting, make sure you are ENTIRELY done modeling. If you add new geometry or mirror anything, or basically do anything after you've set edge weights... It'll destroy your entire mesh, making it look horrible.

Sensei
02-07-2009, 02:52 PM
So, if you do plan on using edge weighting, make sure you are ENTIRELY done modeling. If you add new geometry or mirror anything, or basically do anything after you've set edge weights... It'll destroy your entire mesh, making it look horrible.

You just have to use TrueArt tools to cut geometry and keep your CC edge weighting intact.. ;)
http://www2.trueart.pl/Products/Plug-Ins/EasySplit/Graphics/Movies/EasySplit_Edge_Weight_Preserved_1.mov

geothefaust
02-07-2009, 02:54 PM
Ahh yes, too true Sensei. I had forgotten about your edge weighting plug. :)

Dreamer
02-07-2009, 03:40 PM
Thanks for the info. I wouldn't have known about the CC as I rarely use it.
Will the fabled CORE have such a thing?

Lewis
02-07-2009, 04:58 PM
If you use normal SubPatches then use POINT Weights.

Hopper
02-07-2009, 05:03 PM
And if you do use edge weighting, don't bother trying to mirror any geometry. It's fairly disfunctional.

Dreamer
02-07-2009, 05:05 PM
Thanks. Will try all suggestions.

hrgiger
02-07-2009, 11:24 PM
If you use normal SubPatches then use POINT Weights.

Just keep in mind that point weighting produces completely different results then edge weighting.