PDA

View Full Version : FBX missing from Export Menu



Hanford
02-07-2009, 03:13 AM
Hi. Long time Lightwave (non power user) user, first time poster. I've come here because I feel like I'm losing my mind! I'm using Lightwave on Windows.

I've been trying to export FBX into Unity. FBX, apparently Lightwave 9.6 has a new exporter called Valkyrie.p:

From their website: (http://www.newtek.com/lightwave/benefits.php)

Valkyrie.p is NewTek's new import/export functionality for LightWave 3D. This file contains four new plug-ins that will show up in Layout and Modeler, in Windows 32- and 64-bit, and UB. <snip>
Import is transparent using the standard Load Scene and Load Object commands, and export options are made available on the Export menu.


I checked File -> export but see no FBX export command there:

http://images.hanfordlemoore.com/lw-export.jpg

I checked my plug-ins and I see in fact Valkyrie.p is there:

http://images.hanfordlemoore.com/lw-plugin.jpg

Ugh. What's going on? Anyone know? Do I need to activate them or something?

Any help would be appreciated.

~Hanford

Hanford
02-07-2009, 02:38 PM
Update: been continually experimenting with this, but no luck.

Can anyone confirm that I should be seeing FBX in the import menu? can you check your LW to see if it's there? Thanks!

particledecay
02-08-2009, 02:22 AM
Hi Hanford. I can load FBX using Mac LW 9.6. You don't need to "import" though, just load the object. NOTE: loads in both Modeler and Layout but without UVs and bones appear to be nulls.

Hanford
02-08-2009, 02:29 AM
Thanks. What about Export though? do you see an export menu option?

particledecay
02-08-2009, 06:28 AM
Yup I see FBX export under File > Export in Layout.

mrpapabeis
02-09-2009, 08:19 PM
I'm on a PPC Mac 9.6, no FBX EXPORT. Please?