PDA

View Full Version : Help a Noob Out!

naturaltz
02-06-2009, 07:10 PM
I'm finding LW to be utterly confusing and frustrating to use. I purchased LW 3 years ago at Version 8.5 in the hopes of using it for quick flying logos etc. I must disclose that I am a professional video editor first and foremost, working with Avid Media Composer and Final Cut Pro. --I studied 3D animation in college way back in the Alias Power Animator, 3D Studio DOS days, and I picked up those programs rather fast. I downloaded the PLE addition to Maya and found it rather intuitive and easy to use. I remembered many of the tools that carried over from Alias's legacy product. I even played around with Side FX Houdini PLE and also find that to be simple to understand. I ended up choosing LW for economic reasons. It was $495 at the time, and had a feature list that rivals Maya's Unlimited $6999 package, and Houdini's Master, $7999 package. I've been kicking myself ever since because my program just sits in my dock unused. I lean on cheesy Boris FX plugins for my logos, because I can't make heads or tails with this program.

I have a personal project I want to do, getting back to my animation roots, and since I already own LW, I've made the hair-pulling-out decision to push through with LW. The free videos on newtek's site are informative, but don't cover an A to Z overview. The videos seem to be random, with no logical flow. I'm finding the most basic things to be mind-bogglingly frustrating, like how do you select objects in the scene? Why when you're drawing a curve and hit undo to step back a point, the whole curve goes? et...

LW just doesn't seem to conform to any recognizable standard. Help me get through this birthing period please!!! Someone point me in the right direction.

Giacomo99
02-06-2009, 08:57 PM
If you ask specific problems, people will be a lot more able to help you.