PDA

View Full Version : Lightwave and Autodesk

LightSaber101
01-31-2009, 03:57 AM
Dear Friends,

While I am a game designer by trade, I have to keep abreast of the latest trends in game artwork as well. But I am by no means an expert when it comes to game artwork!

One of the challenges facing game dev studios is the high costs of licensing 3d artwork software. Lightwave offers a pleasant alternative to developing 3d models for one's games, at the very least.

My question for the aratarati here is if I can use Lightwave to make animation work and then export the animation in some usable format to an Autotesk format(ie, Maya/Max/XSI), or even to Blender?

Thanks,
Lighsaber101

akademus
01-31-2009, 04:16 AM
The most straight forward way for transferring animation or any other sort of object (model) deforming would be via .mdd format which is essentially baked vertex movement. The best solution is PointOven and very affordable too!

cresshead
01-31-2009, 04:58 AM
use FBX export and import that to 3dsmax or maya, it supports animation from bones, cameras, texturing...everyting you need really and cost 'nothing'.

steve g

jaxtone
01-31-2009, 05:51 AM
Ok! But does it work 100% in both directions?

use FBX export and import that to 3dsmax or maya, it supports animation from bones, cameras, texturing...everyting you need really and cost 'nothing'.

steve g

akademus
01-31-2009, 06:03 AM
Dare! As it would lead to rigging issues. Yes, you'll got bones but will model deform properly? I still think baking is the safest and hassle free method.

UnCommonGrafx
01-31-2009, 06:36 AM
FBX offers tweakability on both sides of the fence, as it were. Some would suggest that this route offers the most possibilties for being able to work your pipeline right through to the end.