PDA

View Full Version : Importing step format



scratch33
01-30-2009, 02:12 AM
Hi,

How can we import a *.step format from a CAD program to lightwave?

Thank you

flakester
01-30-2009, 02:32 AM
Howdy scratch33.

You will need a piece of CAD translation software, such as Polytrans from Okino. Alternatively, you could find out if your client has a way of exporting an .obj file from their software.

If you are in no rush (I am working off-site today), upload your STEP file and send me a PM with a link. I'll do a basic translation for you, for nothing, over the weekend.

Others might be willing to turn it around for you today if it is a simple model.

Hope that helps.

flakester.

biliousfrog
01-30-2009, 03:07 AM
The Rhino demo should be able to convert it too

scratch33
01-30-2009, 04:14 AM
Hi,

Thank you very much for the info.

I trie with polytrans and rhino.

Thank you again. :thumbsup: