PDA

View Full Version : Rail Clone



waverguy
01-26-2009, 10:58 AM
I was following and working along with the video on how to make tank treads by William Vaughn. After the closed curve is made and the tread is made, this is how his looks from the video after he applies the rail clone.

68726



This is how mine turned out using the same settings. Does anyone know why the clones are smaller and the normals are flipped? Thanks for any help to understand what is going on.

68727

nightrider
10-25-2011, 09:07 AM
I olso have issus with this and cant get the same resultat to my pc

meshpig
10-26-2011, 06:03 AM
waverguy

The orientation of the spline determines the normals. ie. Flip the curve as in select, hit F.

nightrider... downloaded your scene yesterday but haven't had the time.

meshpig
10-28-2011, 04:30 AM
... when you make the 2nd rail clone for the Bkg morph you need to F2 the object then offset it. On macs at least, Rail Clone is very touchy about where the object to be cloned is in relation to the background curve.


98928

Cantering the object reads the curve upside down but there is no misallignemnt.

98929

then offset and the 2nd rail clone for the bkg morph is good to go

98930

:)

meshpig
10-28-2011, 05:58 AM
Just noticed the date of the original post... LOL.