PDA

View Full Version : Applying surfaces to objects in scene

spardacus
08-12-2003, 11:35 AM
When I apply a surface to an object in my scene, LW continues to apply the surface to tha last chosen object vs the currently chosen object.

I am using the object pull down to assure that I am actually choosing the object I want.

Also, how can I simply edit an existing surface in my Presets window vs having every change create a new surface?

Thank you ... as you can tell I am new to LW.

Frustrated but optimistic

i am spardacus

jdavidbakr
08-12-2003, 12:18 PM
One of the things that I had to get used to with LW is that each instance of an object in the scene is just a copy of the same object. To get them to have two different colors, you have to save a copy of the object, and then you have two different objects. Object surfaces are not saved in LW, they are saved with the scene.

spardacus
08-12-2003, 12:29 PM
That makes sense ... and I was glad to learn this morning the useage of scene vs object hierarchy for surfaces thereby allowing you to changes a surface once for all corresponding object usages.

However, what is happening to me is I have several objects in a scene. Each object is unique. When I select one object to assign a surface to, and then select a new object with the pull down menu to assign another surface to this next object, the surface I choose gets assigned to the last object selected as if it was still selected. Yet, when I look at my pull down menu, I don't have that object selected.

I have to physically touch the bones, lights or other tab selector to sort of make LW forget the last selection, then go back to my ogjects tab and reselect the object I want and assign a surface to that object. This is a bit cumbersome and time consuming.

????
<:-\

Thank you for your feedback ... with a robust app like LW life without a forum would be suicidal.

i am spardacus

spardacus
08-12-2003, 12:38 PM