PDA

View Full Version : LW vs 3DS max

jefeb
01-21-2009, 01:47 PM
OK
I need input and ammo for the argument of LW vs 3ds max.
Especially concerning render farms. My computer guy wants me to switch to 3ds max because he has had problems setting up a farm and believes 3dsmax is more stable He wants to use this render farm:

http://www.rackmount.com/ExtremeNode/ExtremeNode-EN8720-008-Xeon.htm

Also, I have been using LW for 4 years and 0 on max. There are no training centers for Max here in KC, MO so I'm not sure how to get up to speed that fast.
Is it possible to animate in LW and render in Max on the farm?
We are setting up a new studio for a weekly computer show and will feature selected animations of various cpu parts etc composited with live video.(will be based upon themes of each show so I don't know what exactly I will need to do)
So give me some ammo to throw back at him so I can stay in LW!

Thanks
Jeff

Dirk
01-21-2009, 02:10 PM
You can animate in LW and render in Max, You'll need a plugin for Max called PointOven. Haven't tried it with Max, but works like a charm with Maya.

As for rendering in Max (with Mental Ray), this might be interesting:

http://www.newtek.com/forums/showpost.php?p=808853&postcount=50

Limbus
01-21-2009, 03:20 PM
OK
Especially concerning render farms. My computer guy wants me to switch to 3ds max because he has had problems setting up a farm and believes 3dsmax is more stable He wants to use this render farm:

Choosing a 3D Software based on if the computer guy is able to setup a renderfarm with it is pretty strange. It is even more strange to dump 4 years of experience with one software in favour of another, much more expenisve software based on the render farm setup. A good network adminstrator should be able to setup LW network rendering without any problems. Maybe ask him to look into a 3rd party network rendermanager like BNR.

Cheers, Florian

lwanmtr
01-21-2009, 03:25 PM