PDA

View Full Version : Radeon 9800 drivers!



Oddgit
08-11-2003, 09:06 PM
i did a test install of 10.2.6 and installed the drivers, in the read me it says they work on other cards too, so i gave it a try, as far as i can tell it works :)
dont blast me if it dosent work for you, but i am pretty sure it worked on my system.
dual 450 and a radeon 8500

mlinde
08-11-2003, 09:21 PM
Did anybody notice that nVidia is hiring a low-level Mac firmware coder for their "next generation graphics cards?"

policarpo
08-12-2003, 08:21 PM
does anyone know if this will work on a 1ghz 15" PB with the OEM Radeon card?

cheers!

Triple G
08-12-2003, 08:48 PM
I don't know...I've got things running pretty stable on my 1GHz G4 with 10.2.4 and a Radeon 8500 with the Oct. 2002 driver. I'm reluctant to start meddling with things again. If there's a real performance increase with this new driver, I might be tempted, but for now I'm satisfied to leave well enough alone.

policarpo
08-12-2003, 08:54 PM
hrmmm...i totally understand that.

i'm running 10.2.6 on my PB with the Radeon 9700 mobile card...just wondering if these drivers will work with my PB. :confused:

Triple G
08-12-2003, 09:01 PM
Just curious, Poli...have you encountered the dreaded Radeon bug in Modeler with your setup? If yes, I'd probably give these new drivers a shot....what have you got to lose? If not, well...then I'd probably pass. Why tempt fate, ya know? :)

policarpo
08-12-2003, 09:11 PM
it has happened a couple of times...and i hate it. :)

i'm so new to the MAC since my hiautus..i may wait a few daze to see if anyone else has had success. :)

Ade
08-13-2003, 01:56 AM
I started a post in general about nvidia supporting maya and c4d for hardware accelleration.

Maybe a low level mac formware tech will help bring these features?

silvergun
08-13-2003, 10:56 AM
ive got a radeon 8500 and installed the new driver it seems pretty fine to me.. Ive been working on lightwavefor the past few hours and not a single glitch.....i think its time we celebrte

silvergun
08-13-2003, 12:13 PM
I was modeling in lightwave earlier and did a boolean..and yes it froze on me...damn this ati card! Those with 8500 radeons dont bother with this driver.