PDA

View Full Version : LightWave v9.6 Released



BeeVee
01-19-2009, 01:07 PM
Hi all,

v9.6 is in your your account (http://reg.newtek.com/Downloads.aspx) now, go get.

B

geothefaust
01-19-2009, 01:12 PM
There we have it! Weeeh! *downloading*


EDIT: So how about an idea on that "next step" news that we heard about before? :D

The Dommo
01-19-2009, 01:14 PM
getting it..... must go faster, must go faster...!

BigHache
01-19-2009, 01:25 PM
I got mine, W00T! :2guns:

dballesg
01-19-2009, 01:26 PM
Hi,

Don't forgot to get the NEW content (474 Mb) WOW! :) It is under Bonus Content

And the NEW Web Help (125 MB) It is under LightWave Help System


David

MrWyatt
01-19-2009, 01:43 PM
So when can we expect this LW10 announcement???
:hey:

OOZZEE
01-19-2009, 01:43 PM
damn gotta wait til I get home !! sounds yummy !!!

Dreamer
01-19-2009, 02:17 PM
9.6 downloaded fine, but I get this error message on all the documentation and content.

zapper1998
01-19-2009, 02:28 PM
9.6 downloaded fine, but I get this error message on all the documentation and content.

me to
same error

probably to many people downloading at same time ya think ???

Normally i get 1.5 M/sec, but i am at 70KB/sec, lots a downloading going on...

Michael

Weetos
01-19-2009, 02:36 PM
9.6 downloaded fine, but I get this error message on all the documentation and content.

Logout and Login back again

This error pops up when your session is no more valid

Dreamer
01-19-2009, 02:39 PM
Now I get this.

virtualcomposer
01-19-2009, 02:45 PM
I get the same error message. Like nothing is on the other side or something. The UB version isn't downloading.

Matt
01-19-2009, 02:47 PM
New LightWave, new President! Wonder what the third thing is? :D

(BTW: Download is working for me here in FireFox)

hrgiger
01-19-2009, 02:49 PM
Released at last! Released at last! Thank God almighty, 9.6 is released at Last!

Sorry, just a little MLK humor on MLK day.

Dreamer
01-19-2009, 02:51 PM
FireFox gives me this for the Content.

Dreamer
01-19-2009, 02:53 PM
And then this after I click the directory.

virtualcomposer
01-19-2009, 02:53 PM
New LightWave, new President! Wonder what the third thing is? :D

(BTW: Download is working for me here in FireFox)

New Economy?

virtualcomposer
01-19-2009, 02:55 PM
Logout and Login back again

This error pops up when your session is no more valid

It's downloading now. Tried your method and it works. Thanks.

mac
01-19-2009, 03:11 PM
New LightWave, new President! Wonder what the third thing is? :D


For a minute there, I was thinking Jay Roth has been replaced ... silly Canuck :D

zapper1998
01-19-2009, 03:13 PM
i did relogin

same error

geothefaust
01-19-2009, 03:13 PM
New LightWave, new President! Wonder what the third thing is? :D


Why it's the big LWX announcement, of course! :D

geothefaust
01-19-2009, 03:14 PM
i did relogin

same error

Clear out your cache and cookies, then try again. That should do it. (Hopefully)

lwanmtr
01-19-2009, 03:21 PM
I get the same error..or I get an 'Index of Lightwave9.6.dmg' sorta thing...

John Jordan
01-19-2009, 04:12 PM
And then this after I click the directory.

Same here.

:(

rhortman
01-19-2009, 04:12 PM
Yall,

The server is real busy (as is the bandwidth) :). The new mozilla and safari don't seem good at recovering from an initial download failure (they just cache the failure for some reason), which is generally not what you want.. so geothecache is correct - just flush your newtek cache and cookies and then log back in..

Also, note that we don't 'force' a logout (cause I hate that)... however if the server has sensed inactivity for a while and your session variable is old - just logout/login again (you don't have to flush your cache if you've just been sitting on the page too long), and the download link redirects should be fine.

- ricky

zapper1998
01-19-2009, 04:33 PM
do we have to register 9.6 ???

Sekhar
01-19-2009, 04:43 PM
Anyone got it working on Vista 64 bit? Not doing anything for me when I run it.

zapper1998
01-19-2009, 04:51 PM
Vista 64 bit, works fine here....

adamredwoods
01-19-2009, 05:05 PM
9.6 woo hoo!

Sekhar
01-19-2009, 05:11 PM
Vista 64 bit, works fine here....

Wow, that's bizarre. You're talking about the new 9.6 posted today, right? You just opened it and it started installing? I can't believe this. Did you have to do anything out of the ordinary?

I tried on my desktop with Vista 64 bit, my laptop with Vista 64 bit, and another laptop with XP 32 bit - all behave exactly the same way. The initial box opens up asking for confirmation to run, and when I select OK, nothing happens.

I've never had this happen in any of the beta versions. This is freaking me out. Anyone has any ideas?

ramccombe
01-19-2009, 05:29 PM
I get the Firefox error and the opps error. WTF?:compbeati:twak:

Sekhar
01-19-2009, 05:44 PM
I get the Firefox error and the opps error. WTF?:compbeati:twak:

Log out and log back in and see if that helps.

faulknermano
01-19-2009, 05:48 PM
i'm getting an error too. with Mozilla i get this error:


500 OOPS: vsf_sysutil_bind


with IE i also get an error:


Server Error in '/' Application.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Input string was not in a correct format.
Description: An unhandled exception occurred during the execution of the current web request. Please review the stack trace for more information about the error and where it originated in the code.

Exception Details: System.FormatException: Input string was not in a correct format.

Source Error:

An unhandled exception was generated during the execution of the current web request. Information regarding the origin and location of the exception can be identified using the exception stack trace below.

Stack Trace:


[FormatException: Input string was not in a correct format.]
System.Number.ParseInt32(String s, NumberStyles style, NumberFormatInfo info) +0
System.Convert.ToInt32(String value) +47
Downloads.LWDownload.Page_Load(Object sender, EventArgs e)
System.Web.UI.Control.OnLoad(EventArgs e) +67
System.Web.UI.Control.LoadRecursive() +35
System.Web.UI.Page.ProcessRequestMain() +750




--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Version Information: Microsoft .NET Framework Version:1.1.4322.2407; ASP.NET Version:1.1.4322.2407

Paul Brunson
01-19-2009, 05:51 PM
Firefox gave me trouble even after clearing the cache but IE 7 worked first time.

geothefaust
01-19-2009, 05:58 PM
In another thread, Chuck had this to say:


When there is heavy traffic to the server, errors are pretty common, and where you are connecting from may sometimes contribute to that. Wait a while and try again if you are having difficulties downloading a particular file, or logout and login again to refresh your session.

Patience patience! It will pay! (Of course, I got it right as it was announced, downloaded at 400kb/s :D)

Sekhar
01-19-2009, 06:06 PM
Wow, that's bizarre. You're talking about the new 9.6 posted today, right? You just opened it and it started installing? I can't believe this. Did you have to do anything out of the ordinary?

I tried on my desktop with Vista 64 bit, my laptop with Vista 64 bit, and another laptop with XP 32 bit - all behave exactly the same way. The initial box opens up asking for confirmation to run, and when I select OK, nothing happens.

I've never had this happen in any of the beta versions. This is freaking me out. Anyone has any ideas?

Guys, turned out (or looks like) my Chrome browser was to blame. The download through Chrome was a bit shorter (149,258,240 bytes vs. the correct size 149,259,690 bytes). Downloaded through FireFox and that one worked fine. Watch out folks using Chrome.

ramccombe
01-19-2009, 06:42 PM
Safari seems to be working at this point. Happy Happy Joy Joy!!!!:D

Sensei
01-19-2009, 06:51 PM
Released at last! Released at last! Thank God almighty, 9.6 is released at Last!


If message on LW-PlugIn developer list concerning nodes is right, there will be new fix needed very soon..

http://tech.groups.yahoo.com/group/lw-plugin/message/13346

Sekhar
01-19-2009, 10:47 PM
If message on LW-PlugIn developer list concerning nodes is right, there will be new fix needed very soon..

http://tech.groups.yahoo.com/group/lw-plugin/message/13346

What is the issue? Those of us not in the group can't see the messages.

Sensei
01-19-2009, 11:00 PM
The guy said:


Hi folks,

Is anyone else having trouble with the LWNodeHander.rend.cleanup
callback not being called anymore after a render? Previews in the Node
Editor still work, but the renderer is not cleaning up after itself.

Thanks,
Eric Winemiller
Digital Carvers Guild
Plug-ins for Carrara and LightWave
http://digitalcarversguild.com

calilifestyle
01-19-2009, 11:07 PM
What next, well version 3 of 3D-coat