PDA

View Full Version : cloning instances and surfacing question



Animapper
01-18-2009, 07:33 AM
Hi folks and happy New Year!

In layout, if you import an object that has a surface assigned that you plan on attaching a video to, if you clone the object is there a way to assign different videos to each clone you make? Right now, when I assign the video to the surface, it goes on all the objects. I know I could bring in each object with a different surface name. So I guess the question is can you surfave a cloned object differently from it's parent?

Thanks for any advice,

MooseDog
01-18-2009, 08:16 AM
atm, no. as things stand, you'll have to create different objects with different surface names to accomplish this.

Giacomo99
01-18-2009, 03:00 PM
Yeah. It seems silly, but there you go. Once one gets deeper into Lightwave, it starts to feel a bit more natural but as a newbie it seemed really dumb to me too.